Posted by: Leek | May 21, 2013

Some Unnamed Anime Podcast Pilot: Spring 2013 Mid-season Impressions

For those of you who though it was never going to happen, it happened. A week ago I sat down with two unique individuals to record the first episode of the hopefully ongoing radio/podcast associated with this blog. And I said it in the intro but I’ll apologize one more time for all the wonderful imperfections in the episode. I wish I had ideal recording conditions, equipment, and that I was ready to pay so I could bump up sound quality a bit on the final product but we can’t have everything just yet. However I plan to keep the project going, work the best I can with what I have under the hopes that you guys, the wonderful listeners, will hopefully help spread the word.

Summary
In today’s show I invited two close acquaintances to talk about the Spring 2013 season of anime now that we’ve hit the halfway point. We…sort of talk about anime. As I’m not watching the same considerable amount of things as these two I hardly do much aside from push conversation along. Nonetheless in the mix of chaotic opinions, there is still some decent overview of a lot of the anime from the season (which covers about 24 different shows). It also spans about an hour and half so I recommend you turn it on and listen to it while you’re driving…or doing something productive. This episode does feature explicit language and most will. So be warned from here on out.

People on the Show
Leek aka “Put dicks in anime” – Me. Due to my setup my voice is a little quieter than everyone else. I also sound HORRENDOUSLY tired. Despite how I sound, I was having plenty of fun. My opinions lie somewhere in the middle ground between honesty and bullshit.

Uki aka “Nanoha guy” – He’s the one that won’t shut up about seiyuu and says Nanoha about 100 times. I purposely invited him because I knew he would give actual information on what he was watching.

Milk aka “The voice of America” – I’m sure by his intro you’ll know well why Milk was invited to be on the show. After the show he wanted to add he gave everything an “F” for “fuck off” except Railgun Season 2 which was awarded a “F” for “fantastic”. Be sure to follow him on twitter @nomistakesever.

Music
The music I use to open and close the show is a free to use radio BGM under CC. This is courtesy of one of my favorite musicians toughing it out in Tokyo, Knots. Be sure to check out his homepage and show him some love.

Part 1: “We’re still talking about anime right?”

Download this episode (right click and save)

Part 2: “I cannot read tits. I am sorry.”

Download this episode (right click and save)

If you don’t want to listen to the entire show then feel free to check below the cut for some time stamps.

Part 1 Timestamps
00:00 Intro
00:53 Photokano
4:40 Yuyushiki
7:05 Aiura
8:50 Zettai Bouei Leviathan
12:12 Uta no Prince Sama Season 2
14:00 Ginga Kikoutai Majestic Prince
18:00 Suisei no Gargantia
22:32 Kakumei Valvrave
27:20 Mushibugyo
31:40 Shingeki no Kyojin/Attack on Titan

Note: The Skype noise at around 20:52 was actually a message in Skype chat from Milk reading:
“and i just realized i made that up”
“I am the best”
You can figure out for yourself what exactly it was he made up.

Part 2 Timestamps
0:00 Ore no imouto ga konna ni kawaii wake ga nai Season 2
6:37 Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W
11:18 Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S
17:41 HHataraku Maou-sama
22:38 Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Kome wa Machigatteru
25:19 Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko
27:39 Date a Live
29:52 Hayate no Gotoku Cuties
33:03 Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Bride
36:02 Yondemasuyo, Azazel-san Season 2
36:42 Karneval
38:06 Devil Survivor 2
39:05 Namiuchigiwa no Muromi-san
39:36 Leftovers and overall impressions
42:09 Conclusion

Note: I purposely act like an asshole when talking about LN adaptions or LNs in general.

Leave a Reply

Categories