Posted by: Leek | June 21, 2013

Some Unnamed Anime Podcast Episode 2: Weeding out the Problems of Western Dubs of Anime

The radio is back again this month (even though I stupidly call it a weekly show at the end) for another episode. This time it’s actually…longer…I’m so sorry. This week we learn once again I’m not great at capping conversations and ended up with a two and a half hour podcast. It’s really interesting though and I actually talk this time…a lot for that matter.

Summary
This month’s show is meant to tackle the idea of Western (focusing on the US) dubs of anime. We cover three basic areas involving basic opinions, what problems we think the industry and community have, and we propose a few solutions on how we can improve and keep moving forward. We also talk about thing such as the 4Kids era, Johnny Yong Bosh, and Illinois sweet corn. Unfortunately due to some sound issues I had to cut certain sections (which I explain in the intro) and some areas I could do nothing about. So sorry for when the sound gets choppy or odd noises make their way into the recording. This episode, and I’m sure all of them will, does feature explicit language. Keep the kids away.

People on the Show
Leek aka “The JYB Combatant” – Your lovely MC. In this episode I seem to go on a lot of wild rants off of assumptions about industry. Unfortunately, that’s not the best thing but since I’m not exactly using it to slander anyone and simply throw out suggestions I feel I’m not causing harm.

Multiball aka “The good guy” – The only man alive I know who supports industry as well as a normal being should. If you’re a big fan of Western Dubs then Multi’s way of talking about them will probably stroke you the right way constantly.

Zizibaluba aka “The scholar” – My good friend in grad school who helped me get the show started. Many of the ideas that I actually propose were directly bounced off of him during one of our late night blueberry beer sipping, monocle wearing chats. Or, they were probably just chats. Like I remember. Be sure to follow him on twitter @poenbwu.

Music
The music I use to open and close the show is a free to use radio BGM under CC. This is courtesy of one of my favorite musicians toughing it out in Tokyo, Knots. Be sure to check out his homepage and show him some love.

Special Mention
I mention it during the podcast but the final segment idea is taken from another podcast. So I would like to give credit where credit is due to Aris from Avoiding The Puddle. Being a regular listener and attendee of ATP Live, I couldn’t help but use the segment idea as I find it an ingenious way to wind down after a show.

Part 1: “The JYB Virus”

Download this episode (right click and save)

Part 2: “Hey Jackie…why won’t you answer my question?”

Download this episode (right click and save)

Part 3: “Kids crying over 4Kids and Illinois Sweet Corn”

Download this episode (right click and save)

Check out the timestamps to see what ground we cover.

Part 1 Timestamps
00:00 Intro
06:36 General Opinions/Impressions on Western Dubs
(14:53) Warning: Minor Feedback Problems Happen
17:03 Problems with Dubs: Talent Pool
37:32 Problems: Communication

Part 2 Timestamps
(00:00) Warning: Multiball Speaks from the Windtunnel
00:00 Problems: Bias Against English
13:20 Problems and Fixes: Glorifying Voice Acting
27:15 Fixes: Proposing a working Dubbing System
37:40 Problems: The US is Big
44:30 Voice Acting Tips

Part 3 Timestamps
00:00 Voice Acting Tips Cont.
4:40 Fixes: Proper Feedback
10:10 4Kids and Business
30:00 Industry Pride
37:10 Little Bitches Segment
44:00 Outro

Responses

  1. The podcast with no name! Namae no nai!


Leave a Reply

Categories