Posted by: Leek | September 22, 2014

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 2

Another week, another fun, fun rank in.

Logo. Riiiiiight. On it. Not.

 

After the last week what could have possibly changed you ask? This week already threw a wrench in the equation that I’m not sure if you guys are ready for.

Previous Standings

1) PriPara – 11 Points
2) Happiness Charge Precure! – 9 Points
3) Lady Jewelpet – 6 Points
4) Aikatsu! – 3 Points

Last week we saw PriPara gripping at straws as Precure quickly closed the gap to first place in one large, innocent step. Did PriPara actually fix it’s face this week? And what about Aikatsu? Did the show that struggled to impress me pull something great out for the 100th episode?

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) PriPara – +6 Points
2) Lady Jewelpet – +6 Points
4) Happiness Charge Precure – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
How did two shows manage to tie for second? Let’s go to the judge to see what went on this week in the land of idols, ladies, and walking WMDs.

PriPara might just make it yet

After a lackluster past few weeks and a seemingly strong halt to it’s appeal, PriPara finally pulled out some actual action and fun this week. Alongside a development that wasn’t lame (albeit predictable), they finally debuted a new stage song. And you know what? It might be the one song that I could actually listen to on a regular basis. Which is good because I bet I’ll be hearing it for the next 10 episodes. But this week’s PriPara had a decent mix of drama and humor that finally elevated it to being more than watchable. So why did it tie with Lady Jewelpet? While I’ll talk about the content of Lady Jewelpet later, the point is both series did the same kind of episode. While Lady Jewelpet didn’t have the same plot impact, it was generally such a stable and interesting episode that I couldn’t put one before the other.

Sometimes trying isn’t good enough

After it’s stellar performance last week, it’s sad to see Precure fall as hard as it did this week. The point is after a chain of really big and developmental episodes, we got one that just fell far from having a point. Megumi already showed her worth a few episodes ago in the Unlovely fight and this just felt like the writers had no idea what to do after last week. While the episode was dedicated to her, Megumi didn’t really develop as much as learn a very small, negligible lesson. So what we essentially got was a character development episode without the development. On account everything else had a decent driving force this week it would be hard for me to put Precure on a podium near them.

Schemin’, Cookin’, and Romance

After taking a bit of a break from the action last week, this week brought a lot of the background events to the foreground again. While underhanded schemes continue on the side, Lady Jewelpet decided to keep up with what it does best. And what’s that? Silly lunchbox preparation nonsense (alright, so that’s not what it does best). Much like PriPara, Lady Jewelpet simply pulled ahead by balancing itself between fluff and plot development. I don’t expect every episode to be dynamic, but it’s nice to see a return to the overarching plot. And, from the previews, it looks like Lady Jewelpet could potentially give Aikatsu! a hard time taking first place two weeks in a row. Like I said in the PriPara overview, I simply decided to stick both in second place for achieving the same objectives. Since both managed to do the same thing and do it exceptionally well, it would be wrong of me to say one was better than the other. And I feel that if I did that I would potentially fall back on bias.

BUT WAIT….THERE’S MORE

So after bashing Aikatsu! last week for botching it’s penultimate episode, we all learned that it wasn’t over just yet. Somehow I missed the memo that there was a 51st episode in Season 2 that I had to wait for. And with that in mind, this one was a nail biter. The events of this episode haven’t just been building for an arc, or a season, but for the entire lifespan of the series. And you know what? It was worth it. There’s very little much you could do but cry or clap during the latter half of the episode. I really feel like I’ll have to watch the last three of Aikatsu! episodes together just to make it feel correct. They all stand alone but they really all string together to one really great finale. At least that’s what I’m going to assume as I really doubt next week will disappoint. Maybe I’ll be eating my words but, for the meantime, Aikatsu! deserves every bit of spotlight for this week. Oh, and if you’re wondering if this makes me see last week’s episode in any better of a light, it really doesn’t. Even if it really wasn’t the penultimate episode, last week’s Aikatsu! still leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Wrap-Up
I know what you’re thinking. This asshole is allowing ties. That’s right, I’m not Deciderman. I’m human and indecisive. I don’t think every show is going to do so well that everybody is going to claim a first spot so I’m allowing ties. And I feel it will happen more on the occasion of bad weeks than good weeks. So until next time keep tuned in for more of the power rankings.

Leave a Reply

Categories