Posted by: Leek | December 21, 2014

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 15

While it’s still a little early to be saying it, Merry Christmas everyone. Aikastu! does in fact air on Christmas but the next post won’t be until nearer to New Years (and next week will effectively be to celebrate New Years). So we have to do Christmas in advance. Have you all been good boys and girls? I hope so.

Because Santa means business this year.

Maybe he’s just mad that Christmas couples and Santa costumes have taken away all his spotlight.

Previous Standings

1) Happiness Charge Precure! – 89 Points
2) Lady Jewelpet – 81 Points
3) Aikatsu! – 78 Points
4) PriPara – 51 Points

After this week we only have one more post after this week to wrap up the year. But don’t fret. This is only the beginning of a whole new year packed full of anime for little girls.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) PriPara – +9 Points
2) Lady Jewelpet – +6 Points
3) Aikatsu! – +3 Points
4) Happiness Charge Precure! – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
So what happened this week? Is this the beginning of a Christmas miracle where PriPara magically climbs the ranks? It could be. Or it could have just been a lucky week. Who knows.

Christmas with the girls.

With what Dokidoki did last year for Christmas, I was almost convinced Happiness Charge! would run the same route. Unfortunately, it looks like they decided to opt out of a overly dramatic Christmas episode. Or it’s a two part super Christmas special. It’s hard to judge at this point, but this wasn’t a incredibly strong episode in any case.

It was definitely cute. I won’t take that away from it. It’s just with how everything else felt this week, Precure definitely felt like it was missing some oomph. But I don’t think I can really blame Precure for slowing down a bit. It has been almost non-stop drama for the past few weeks, so it only makes sense to give the cast (and staff) a bit of a break to chill with their feet up. I don’t even have a real complaint this episode other than Red and Seiji’s interaction. I had expected a bit more confrontation before the turn (much like what happened with Megumi) but, instead, it just kind of happened. Red could have had a lot more complex conversation with Seiji, so I think that’s the only real place where the episode fell short. Precure’s only real problem this week is that it was standing among some taller giants.

Romance, Romance, and more Romance.

After a rough week last week, Lady Jewelpet really bounced it’s way back. In fact, I really wanted to give the number one position to Lady Jewelpet this week. And, at this point, it definitely has my vote for the best Christmas episode of the pack so far. So what is there to say?

Lady Jewelpet did exactly what I wanted it to do. It turned away from the huge events going on for awhile to allow the characters to mingle. Much like Precure, Lady Jewelpet has been on a story tear recently, but it’s a show that is built much tighter around smaller interactions and romance. Because of that, this episode was and always will be highly welcome. Lady Jewelpet this week was just cute and if you follow the series it’s pretty much what you’ve been wanting to see for weeks and weeks. Honestly, I don’t have a single complaint. The only reason that Lady Jewelpet is standing at number two is because PriPara just managed to generate a Christmas miracle this week. But if Aikatsu! doesn’t pull off an amazing Christmas episode next week, then Lady Jewelpet will most likely be getting a rather welcome, albeit late, Christmas present.

And I’m too sexy for your party. Too sexy for your party.

Hinaki seems to be the Queen of pulling up Aikatsu! whenever she has a dedicated episode. I don’t know what it is about her but her character development seems to be the most striking right now. This week was no exception and Aikatsu! is in much of a similar position as Precure. I can’t say I had any real issue with Aikatsu! this week and it literally was just outrun by two really strong episodes from PriPara and Lady Jewelpet. How did Aikatsu! crash Precure’s Christmas party though?

I think I put Aikatsu! above Precure this week for the pure character development and charm. Like I said, I don’t know what it is but Hinaki’s struggles as a character are incredibly dynamic compared to everyone else. While everyone else seems to overcome their issues very easily, Hinaki appears to have to climb much taller walls. And how she pulls it off is always fun to see. If that’s not enough for you, I really love Aikatsu! fashion sense. Stage clothes are probably a different topic but the casual clothes that they design are always amazing. So an episode dedicated to fashion was pretty much an instant hit with me. A shame they decided to do this episode this week because it would be an easy top spot on a normal week.

How the Principal stole PriPara.

PriPara is the star of this week by doing a great closing to it’s first real arc/sub-plot (whatever you want to call it). You all know I’ve been hard on PriPara, but it’s not like I’m trying to turn people against it. I just believed it has been capable of better things, and this week is definitely an affirmation that PriPara can do good work. Life has some stupid coincidences and irony, and I enjoyed how they worked that into Sugar and Himeka’s relationship. It was an actual legitimate confrontation between the two and I think having the younger generation witness the reconciliation is something that can be utilized later. My only real complaint is the latter half of the episode. I didn’t mind the final result, but I think how the six banded together was a little lackluster. I would have enjoyed if Lala gave some kind of speech about why they should perform together rather than them skipping over it. That would have made if feel more legitimate and actually strengthened the reason the group formed in the first place.

The hilarious gag ending of this is that it’s hard to call a “Christmas” episode. It was just the end of an arc that happened around Christmas but really didn’t have any relation to the holiday. Sure, they did a Christmas live, but the only thing you can say is that a “Christmas miracle” occurred. Had Lala had that time to give a speech she could have easily said some sappy nonsense about the meaning of the Christmas holiday. But they didn’t. So, while it was a great episode, I can’t call it a great Christmas episode.

Wrap-Up
A real fun week for me as I really enjoyed about everything I was given. I couldn’t have expected any less, and I think there are still some great things in the coming week. So next week we will get to decide the best Christmas episode of the year and also start on judging the first few New Years episodes. Everyone have a fun and safe Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Categories