Posted by: Leek | December 29, 2014

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 16

From Christmas we go right to New Years. I have to admit I’ll personally be pretty busy over the time but I’ll try and make sure I don’t fall behind on getting these out. The end of the year awards post might be a bit later than I planned but I will not forget about them. Just try and be patient with me.

The cover of Queen II has a new face.

Of course I was going to make that joke.

Previous Standings

1) Happiness Charge Precure! – 90 Points
2) Lady Jewelpet – 87 Points
3) Aikatsu! – 81 Points
4) PriPara – 60 Points

You can do the math after this to figure out who really came out on top at the end of the year. If not you can just wait until the awards post. Your choice.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) Happiness Charge Precure! – +6 Points
3) Lady Jewelpet – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
Maybe the results this week will surprise you or you saw this coming a mile away.

It’s not actually the moon but it sure looks like it.

I have mixed feelings about this week’s PreCure. I’m pretty sure it’s entire purpose was to give Red a few more speaking lines before the end of the series. Since Seiji seems incapable of voicing his own thoughts, the entire thing turned into a long explanation by Red as he tried to justify exactly what was going on.

Not saying it wasn’t interesting and on any normal week you’d probably expect a high action PreCure episode to be a shoe in for the top spot. The problem is I just didn’t feel the same strength that the show generated on previous occasions. And I’m pretty sure the episode I’m waiting for is going to happen next week (yes, I realize I said that last week as well). To me, the confrontation this week was more about Red and Blue and less so Megumi and Seiji. It had to happen eventually though because chances are Blue isn’t going to do shit for the rest of the series (like always). A good episode but more so buildup than anything else.

PreCure is also one of two shoes that will be taking an off week next week. But that will naturally factor into the 2015 season and will have no affect on it’s final score for this year.

A recap episode and we’re not last?

Yeah, I know. I hate recap episodes. You hate recap episodes. Nobody in their right mind can watch one and not roll their eyes at least once. But there are definitely good and bad examples of them. And Lady Jewelpet this week was a good example of how you can make recap episodes a lot less painful for the broader audience.

I think the two key things for Lady Jewelpet were the timing of the episode and how they paced it. Everybody reflects a little on New Years, so it’s honestly a good time to use it to brush over big events that happened in the series. But, more importantly, Lady Jewelpet framed it within a pretty amusing event complete with side dialogue of what happened around certain events that you never got to see. So while the episode did recycle a lot of footage, it managed to work in a lot of new scenes to allow you to witness the various flaws of certain characters. It was a well organized and humorous which led me to give it more credit than a fairly flawed PriPara episode.

A New Idol. A New Legend.

The time has come again for another Aikatsu! Christmas special. It really has become a thing and the staff no doubt understands that they have to play all their cards on Christmas. And, ever since the first season, Aikatsu! has had a really high bar to tackle on Christmas. So how did it fare this year?

To be honest, it’s a little unfair. Aikatsu! has had quite the legacy to build off of that every other series in this ranking just can’t do. But it’s because of that format that makes Aikatsu! exactly what it is. By remaining in the same universe for such a large amount of time, they’re allowed to layer event on top of event and give everything that much more impact. This Christmas episode is pretty much the best example of that layering.

It’s not that they essentially re-created the original Christmas episode with the new generation that makes it interesting. And, in fact, if it was just a cut and dry copy I would have failed it entirely for being unoriginal. The appeal of the episode was how they recreated it and how they managed to show respect to the original scenario. Taking a new approach to certain events, having the same characters of the original cast show up in various sections, and, most importantly, finding a way to assign significant positions to all the members of the new generation. I gave credit to Lady Jewelpet for it’s execution and I definitely feel I’m giving Aikatsu! credit for the exact same thing. Having a plan and executing it perfectly is pretty much all you need for a great episode.

While I did thoroughly enjoy the Lady Jewelpet Christmas episode, I feel that the Aikatsu! special managed to pull itself a little ahead thanks to it’s own legacy. While it’s a little unfair, I would feel guilty for not giving Aikatsu! proper credit just because it’s older. With that in mind, Aikatsu! gets awarded a bonus of +10 points for the best Christmas episode of 2014.

Afterthoughts.

I’m not going to lie. PriPara this week just seemed confused. After finally finishing out it’s first arc, it’s like they panicked and realized they didn’t know what they wanted to do next. Because of this, they created some overly ridiculous competition rule set so they could introduce a new character….among a ton of other different events.

Too many things happened in PriPara this week that just seemed like afterthoughts. Randomly bringing the Principal back just so she could harass everyone within PriPara, breaking up the group of six albeit they have a common enemy now, and, last but not least, just throwing in a random New Years scene at the end because they felt like it.

I really enjoyed Pripara for the past two weeks but this was definitely the biggest drop off I could have imagined. Maybe them taking a break next week will give them time to reorganize their thoughts and come up with something good for the second half of the series.

Wrap-Up
This week was kind of a mixed bag to close out the year and I can’t say I’m incredibly happy with some of the things I saw. But there was still some highlights here and there that still gave me some hope going into the next year. With that I hope you all have a great New Years and I will see you all in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Categories