Posted by: Leek | January 12, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 18

A bit of a busy weekend but timing luckily worked out so I could get this post out at the latest I usually do. Isn’t it great when life just works out that way? That being said, it was a pretty great week as well. Sure, there are tons of new series coming out for the winter season, but these series haven’t finished emptying their clips just yet.

Individuals over 18, please wait to be approved at the door.

Today we continue with our regularly scheduled programming.

Previous Standings

1) Lady Jewelpet – 184 Points
2) Happiness Charge Precure! – 174 Points
3) Aikatsu! – 173 Points
4) PriPara – 154 Points

Due to the New Years break, it’s hard to say there was any movement last week. Oh well. You might notice the awards have been added to all the point values. Cool, huh?

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Lady Jewelpet – +9 Points
2) Happiness Charge Precure! – +6 Points
3) Aikatsu! – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I feel I was forced into a really rough decision this week. However, I feel I was given enough time to think and come up with a result that I won’t kick myself over later. We also get to present the first award of the year this week, so let’s get moving.

Beginning of the End.

So how did little old Lady Jewelpet manage to steal another week off of everyone else? The series isn’t as close to ending as Precure, but it still has entered it’s last sprint towards the finale. And, honestly, it feels as if the writers have a pretty good plan as what to do with those last few episodes. Lady Jewelpet has had, on average, pretty phenomenal pacing and buildup. There was some weird episodes along the way, but there was always a good amount of action, drama, slowdown, and humor to create this really enjoyable and consistent balance. The path ahead is still really unknown and I have no idea how wild and crazy the last ten episodes may get. But I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t looking forward to walking that path.

Lady Jewelpet was far from action packed but it was entirely focused on build up for the final spurt of the series. The dark curtain that’s been falling slowly but surely has finally overtaken everything, and it’s really begun to affect the entire cast. And things are still pretty fuzzy. It’s hard to say what characters are on the right side and how it’s all going to wrap itself up. But this episode did a lot of set up on all fronts. It really made the path ahead look interesting and created the potential for an incredibly strong finale.

On top of that, the relationship between Miura and Lilian has finally reached it’s final stage with Miura aware of all the facts. Miura has been a fairly stable character emotionally, but he’s slowly been broken down as he’s learned that his love has come directly into his line of investigation. From his character introduction, I never would have guessed that Miura would have been put into the position that he is now. And I also don’t think I saw him becoming the real hero of all the princes. But he has slowly become one of the more tragic characters and real individual affected directly by the villain.

Priceless.

When I look at Happiness Charge nowadays, it’s relatively easy to compare it to the other shows. It’s now only two episodes away from concluding, so it’s naturally guaranteed a pretty high spot in the weekly rankings. But this week I really wanted to make a good decision because I honestly enjoyed the developments in Lady Jewelpet. So I had to run high action against the drama and development of Lady Jewelpet. So why did Precure lose to it’s far less action packed sister?

While I really enjoyed the Seiji fight, it didn’t really feel like something that we didn’t see too long ago. I think part of me has begun to feel that Happiness Charge saturated it’s action far too much at the end of the series. Naturally, I enjoyed the Lovely and Dark Seiji fight this week. But when I really stacked it up against previous weeks: Mirage, Phantom, three stooges, and even Dark Lovely, it didn’t really feel so great. It was no doubt an over the top fight, but I don’t feel it’ll preserve in my memory as well as those other fights I just listed.

However, with an outstanding episode to start the New Year, I decided to reward Precure with +10 points for the “2015 Opener Award”. It may have lost the week but it won the battle of the first episode of the year (remember that Lady Jewelpet aired by itself last week). So don’t fret and think I didn’t love Precure this week. It just got slightly edged out by a margin of a point.

Big sky light gets some big luck.

Don’t let it’s position influence your opinion, Aikatsu! was still really great this week. Spectacular? No. Solid episode that’s it’s been in dire need of? Yes. I’ve been waiting for an episode where someone (naturally Akari is a good choice) could sit down and have a heart to heart with Juri. And having Juri spend time with Akari’s family over the holidays was a pretty solid way to get the ball rolling.

I still have an honest concern that Juri will, eventually, get pushed too far back to save, but this episode at least managed to put her in the spotlight for a short time. It also did a good secondary job of fleshing out Akari’s past and development just a wee bit more. Akari had a good chunk of her development as an idol happen in the second season, but there’s still a lot of empty holes she needs filled as the main character.

Aikatsu! is really getting out of it’s character introduction phase and most likely transitioning to major arcs very soon. With that in mind, it’s important that it builds some good feeling between all of the current cast members. I really have no idea where the series plans to go from at this point, but I get the feeling it will start consistently heating up in the next coming months.

How Lala got her groove back.

I’m not really sure I could say anything about PriPara this week that wouldn’t be overlap from two weeks ago. I believe the only thing PriPara did this week that amused me was crack a tiny joke about idols and trends. Past that, I can’t really say anything else.

Like always, I just let PriPara slowly pass by on these off weeks. It has some good weeks but getting there isn’t always a great journey. And the glorious stop at the end is only one to two episodes at tops. I really wish PriPara could structure itself a little better, but it seems more concerned with changing it’s opening every season and trying to hard to be different.

Wrap-Up
After a vacation last week, I really feel like the majority of shows came back strong for the New Year. And I really can’t complain. Precure will be wrapping up by the end of the month and hopefully I’ll have the awards post done before that happens.

Leave a Reply

Categories