Posted by: Leek | March 1, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 25

We’ve finally reached week twenty-five! You know what that means? Absolutely nothing. But it is a landmark as we’re one quarter of the way to one hundred.

Roll the tape.

The fates also showered us with a pretty awesome week.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 231 Points
2) Lady Jewelpet – 229 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 215 Points
4) PriPara – 163 Points

The top spots are starting to become heavily contested, and it’s probably only right now that the year is settling in. It’s finally reached that point where it’s anyone’s game again.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) Lady Jewelpet – +6 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
Let’s just say this week is a bag of Gardetto’s. For most people everything in there is a home run but there are some people that don’t want to eat those rye chips.

Caesaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar…Salad.

So I always talk about how Aikatsu! has the holiday episodes that really shine. But there are also those rare episodes where they throw in all the cast to do a drama (usually audition for one) that also stand out quite a bit. And it’s been a pretty solid history with things like the Swallowtail audition in the first season and Chocopop Tantei in the second. It’s just another case where staff not only pulls a mix of gag and fantastic, but also loads the episode with a lot of fanservice that they only throw in from time to time in the ordinary episodes.

Do I feel like this Vampire Mystery drama could have set a new bar? Maybe. It’s one of those things like the original Christmas episode where it’s a one time thing that can be mimicked but never replicated. It just loaded an obscene amount of ridiculousness, fanservice, and crude humor that I really wouldn’t be able to praise it without going on for hours. I don’t think you could have predicted this episode either. It was just so off the wall and had so many nonsensical things happening that all you could really do was sit back and enjoy the ride.

The only real complaint I could make about the episode is every drama also comes with it’s very own original song. And I’m not sure if it was just the scene, the mixing, or the song, but it was fairly difficult to hear the actual song this time around. The drama songs are usually really good, so hardly being able to hear it among the commotion was a little bit of a bummer. But that is a very minor complaint for an incredibly stunning episode.

Well somebody didn’t read the memo.

Lady Jewelpet seems intent on killing off (or whatever you want to call it) every character they can before the series comes to an end. Not that I expect any of them to be permanent because magic will be magic. I just found it amusing that, even if, they’ve been so willing to just start throwing character after character in the grinder episode after episode.

That being said, it was just another one of those climactic weeks where a lot of things went down at once. Actually, it got to a point where even I was getting a bit confused as to what was exactly going on in certain scenes. The really funny thing is they managed to fix exactly what I complained about last episode. Remember how I mentioned all the Jewelpets (as of recent) were there just to add unneeded comedy to scenes that should be somber? They finally shifted it so that those scenes would be untouched and the Jewelpets just had their own little mini-segment to shine and make some funny. It’s not that they haven’t done this before, but it’s kind of nice that they remembered how to do it (at a good time too). Heck, it was also one of the few episodes where Ruby didn’t give a cheerful and goofy monologue before the episode and actually managed to convey the mood.

All in all, I could complain about some things, but the real truth is the episode had me on the edge of my seat. So as much as I could say this and that, there’s no real question that I enjoyed this episode on a raw level.

Work it, girl, give a twirl.

Much I like I had expected, this week was a lot more fulfilling in terms of making Kirara a likable character. Is she still a die hard dream chaser like everyone else? Of course. But she at least has a bit more interesting background to brush it up nice and shiny. I still wouldn’t write it down in the books as amazing, but it was a marginally more enjoyable watch compared to last week.

In reality, the real word to describe the episode is convenient. Kirara doesn’t really have a reason as to why she caved and decided to become a member of the team. It’s just a small little turn of the mood, and she suddenly decides her iron schedule is suddenly not that bad. It’s totally fine to waste a few minutes here and there to bang faces in with the girls. I’m sure some of you yuri types could try and feed me some bullshit, but I don’t really plan on opening my mouth to it. I just think they could have written a slightly better scenario or even just drawn it out a little bit more so Kirara didn’t seem so fickle. I realize that’s giving her a little too much spotlight, but it’s not like Precure doesn’t have some episodes to spare here and there.

Someday you’ll break, just like this robot.

I know. I usually have snarky remarks to make about PriPara every week. And I won’t say I don’t have some this time around, but it’s not as bad as usual. In all honesty, I don’t think that PriPara is a stand out last place this week, and it would have been a good episode to have had on the previous weeks. I can’t say I cared much for the early half of the episode but having everyone finally sit down and talk with each other without Luea Unicorn there was kind of nice.

The only real place to poke a fork at is, once again, how suddenly Falulu’s character managed to change again. Like I said, there are those times she’s just custom fitted to work with the episode at hand. In general, nobody in PriPara seems to hold a consistent character and they all kind of wander off from time to time because it doesn’t fit the mood (outside of maybe Sophie). This isn’t even a character development related thing, it’s just weird. Putting all that aside though I didn’t mind watching PriPara this week. That or I would have taken anything over the recap from the previous week.

Wrap-Up
I don’t know what exactly sparked so many good episodes this week but it’s nice to see a bounce back after the past couple. I guess from here on out I just have to pray that there’s some consistency. Excuse while I go find some wood to knock on.

Leave a Reply

Categories