Posted by: Leek | March 9, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 26

Now that I got my little bit of extra recreation over the weekend we’re back again. Unfortunately, it’s just another one of those weeks.

Now this, this is the class we’ve needed.

This is true LGAPR style.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 240 Points
2) Lady Jewelpet – 235 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 218 Points
4) PriPara – 164 Points

It’s kind of sad to see Precure slipping lower and lower every week, but it is still incredibly fresh. The Jewelpet series is going to be facing the same trial in a few weeks.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Lady Jewelpet – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) PriPara – +3 Points
4) Go! Princess Precure – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I guess last week was just a miracle, or at least for two of these shows.

Get a room you two.

After last week, it’d be hard to imagine they’d do another really crazy Aikatsu! episode. But I have known about the basic plot of this week’s episode for awhile, and it was built up to me by quite a few people. Was it worth the wait? Maybe. Maybe not. Akari has definitely been pushed a bit back out of the spotlight and I’ve brought that fact up a lot recently. But it’s finally rotated back to her even if she wasn’t the complete focus this week. But it felt as if they really wanted to make Tsubasa and Akari a team, and it starts by them having more episodes about their relationship.

It was honestly just a cute episode and just a good reminder of how adorable Akari is. She’s slowly reaching that point, like Ichigo, where she just influences everyone else with her small actions, intentional or not. She’s far from perfect, but she’s definitely settled in at this point. And I think it’s reached a good point where they can really start moving forward (it looks like they plan to as well with the next episode).

Don’t do it Piccolo.

Lady Jewelpet has definitely reached the point where the numbers have gotten past the limit. For any kids show there’s a bit of a limit on how many ally characters you can off before you have to bring them back later. The show had been skating on that line as of last episode, but I think it’s basically an unavoidable revival at this point. I’m not really complaining though. If they really decided to off half the cast and not bring them back, then even I would think of it as cold blooded.

That being said, this week basically set up the final episodes (which is great). There were those few episodes I honestly didn’t enjoy for the pacing, and I still think the series could have been perfect by just removing those. But does it seem like it’s going to have enough time to wrap things up nicely? I believe so. I think they set up all the pieces at this point that it all just kind of follows nicely. I really don’t think they can screw things up but there’s going to be a lot of crazy magic going on. The point is to just accept the weird points of Lady Jewelpet (and it’s been weird since Day 1). I think if you’ve watched this far that you’re just used to the quirks that it won’t drive you nuts. But it’ll be nice if they find a good way to explain how they wrap everything up in the end.

Just get a load of this clown.

You know you’re going to have to explain the Precure objective eventually, and that’s all there really was to this episode. I mean, that’s it. I’m not punishing Precure by putting it last, but it’d be wrong to put anything else in last because actual events happened elsewhere. So I won’t lie and say I found Precure particularly interesting. But I will admit I’ll laugh if it turns into another Lady Jewelpet and each episode just turns Lady lessons into Princess lessons.

I didn’t predict the plot intentionally last week.

So it’d be wrong to say that this episode was just another magical transformation by Falulu. Instead, it was just a major character overhaul brought about by the events of the one previous episode. Completely fair because she’s a robot and learns everything instantly, right? I don’t know. I only really felt inclined to put PriPara in third this week because it’s trying…something. I still don’t give two shits about this arc and I still think it just needs to move on before it can do something decent again. So the fact they’ve just kind of prolonged it doesn’t exactly sit that well with me.

It would have helped if they gave Falulu a new song or gave the main group a song that didn’t sound like the previous three they’ve done. I feel they’ve used the same guitar and same line in every song and it still doesn’t sound good. If PriPara could get a little more creative in it’s performances it would at least give each episode a highlight. That seems even farther from happening than this arc ending though.

Wrap-Up
There was some good this week and there was some fairly bad this week. That’s about the only real summary I can come up with for it.

Leave a Reply

Categories