Posted by: Leek | April 13, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 31

Evidently this is destined to be my 100th post on this specific blog. I don’t think there’s much merit in that number on account of all the random shit that goes up every so often. And there’s about maybe 5-7 posts that actually have any real substance (from a personal view). So who’s really counting?

Welcome to Laura’s perfect world of perfect.

Having these really classy opening screenshots is nice every so often.

Previous Standings

1) Jewelpet Magical Change – 280 Points
2) Aikatsu! – 270 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 236 Points
4) PriPara – 169 Points

I didn’t actually notice how far Precure fell behind until now. It’s not horrendous but it is a lot more than I would have imagined.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) Go! Princess Precure – +6 Points
3) Jewelpet Magical Change – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
This week was full of surprises. And, actually, I really didn’t hate watching anything this week. Isn’t that crazy?

Wait. Where’s Ucchi? Wrong Cat’s Eye you say?

So Magical Change continues with it’s tiny episode format. Not that it’s anything I hate, and I think a really gag centered series is perfect for this kind of format. I think I had mentioned I felt the odd appeal of Lady Jewelpet was that it had this feeling of being a series that would have been more common a few generations back. I could probably say the exact same thing about Magical Change except more centered around it’s gag sense. Not that it’s a bad thing but it’s a question of whether kids are really capable of laughing at anything other than the slapstick nature of it.

It’s really hard to say so much about Magical Change otherwise. It’s really just fun and a break from the other series since it really has no point to it right now. But since no other series on this ranking really focuses on a pure gag direction it makes it stand out. And as long as it keeps me laughing it’s really hard that it’s doing anything wrong. Only flaw is that if it starts running out of jokes or the other series just do things that are interesting plot wise, I can see it falling behind rather quickly.

Johnny finally evolves to 1P color after two and a half seasons.

There are those times that an Aikatsu! episode just does no wrong. And when those episodes roll around it’s hard to really break it down without just going through every little bit that made it great. So rather than do that I’ll just try my best to explain it in brief.

There’s a lot of perks you can get out of tying Rin and Johnny together. For one it lets Johnny, who was sort of getting pushed slowly but surely into the background, get some of the light back that he had at the start of the series. But, more importantly, it gives a prime opportunity to actually flesh out his background (which is exactly what this episode was about). Yes, this was a really big development episode for Rin, but it was just as big an episode for Johnny. And the way Rin just kind of tied it all together was really charming.

It’s really interesting that they decided to do so much with Rin right off the bat, and I really hope Madoka will get the same treatment when her turn rolls around. The Aikatsu! staff has never really done anything without some later intention and I hope that some of what they’re doing now is just further confirming they’re pushing for another season.

He’s not that mad at you. He just wanted more screen time.

I’m not terribly impressed with Precure this week, but I felt the need to give credit where credit is due. The real star of this episode was Yui, who’s later existence in the series I am generally curious about. Seiji was the last example of where a close friend happened to get involved in the Precure circle, and it’s hard to say that Seiji was just being used for his friend position at the end of the series. So I am generally curious if they’ll keep Yui relevant after this episode or if she was just a motivator for the main three in a time of peril.

I’m not really sure why they wanted to kill off Close so quickly but at least had a bit of a last stand. Was it probably just a convention to reveal the new form so they could sell more toys? Let’s not talk about that. Are the fallen villains (very unlikely Close will be the only to fall) highly likely to come back later? I’d be surprised if they didn’t. What I can say is that, as an old man and kind of a toku nerd, I did enjoy the classic “big boss creates another world for the fight”. It’s kind of an old convention, but it’s one that has only come up in Precure in the “we’re traveling to their world so we need to prepare” kind of form recently. Is it going to happen every time? Who knows. But if it does become a thing for every major henchman showdown, then I’d be pretty accepting of it.

It really seems that they’re going straight to cool down after this episode but maybe they’ll squeeze in some aftermath. If it really just turned out to be a sudden jump, then I think it’s going to come back to haunt me later. If that’s the case I won’t forget and I’m going to bring it up when Princess Precure starts really making fuck ups.

My shoulder angel…

You know. I don’t like but I really don’t hate these new clowns in PriPara. Yes, they’re clowns, but not all clowns are bad people. And I think an arc has a higher chance to be promising when characters are actually likable and not super conventional robots that leave randomly on a winged unicorn. But the animal mascot is still (naturally) annoying. That’s probably just a thing at this point though.

Despite actually not hating the episode, I really don’t have much to say about it. Most of it was just dedicated to chitter chatter between the mascots and most of what I liked happened in the latter half (new girls interacting with Lala). I think what I’m actually looking forward to is seeing what the two behave like outside of PriPara and if they decide to go in that direction. In general, I think this episode just showed me life in the franchise again and a good amount of potential. There are plenty of chances the staff will have to drop the ball, but I’d like to see them actually keep it alive for awhile.

Wrap-Up
Variety is the spice of life. We’ll just close on that rather than try and think too hard whether I’m being too nice.

Leave a Reply

Categories