Posted by: Leek | April 19, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 32

I really don’t have anything particularly clever to say this week. So I’ll just let things proceed as usual.

You see, we’re in the middle of budget cuts right now and…

I think it’s pretty well done.

Previous Standings

1) Jewelpet Magical Change – 283 Points
2) Aikatsu! – 279 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 242 Points
4) PriPara – 170 Points

No big changes again. Most things are consistent right now so without a really bad week nobody is going anywhere.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) PriPara – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) Jewelpet Magical Change – +3 Points
4) Go! Princess Precure – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I think those standings will say about everything to you. Something is either really wrong or we’ve just entered the Twilight Zone.

Just a little awkward.

So this week is exactly what the issue of Magical Change is. And that’s basically what PriPara subjects itself to on most weeks. When you rely too much on cheap gags you’re either going to bat it out of the park or fall face flat. But since Magical Change is divided into two separate parts, it kind of has a small way to offset the good and bad a bit and that’s exactly what happened this week.

I will admit the latter half of Jewelpet this week was pretty damn funny (if not for breaking the fourth wall on various occasions). The first half was just kind of this awkward balance of being gag yet ending on just a really flat note. It didn’t exactly set itself up effectively so it could make that kind of ending work so it just felt abrupt and really awkward. And, as I said before, the second half was just kind of silly (in a good way). I don’t really know what it’ll be do next week, but it’s just that kind of show.

More edutainment.

I feel my biggest issue with Aikatsu! this week isn’t with the content but based on the flow of the series as of recent. After working so hard on Rin for the past two episodes, it was just a little awkward that they jump right back towards the main three. It just felt like a bad game of look the other way, and I just wish they had found a way to smooth it out a little more.

As far as the episode itself, this just kind of goes back to what I say every time an episode like this comes up. The real charm of Aikatsu! is it’s ability to effectively teach small lessons about showbiz on top of being entertaining. It’s something that’s not easy to pull off, and it’s always nice that the writers know the balance things to make it as effective as it always is. It also worked as another episode to help bind the main three together and have all of them learn small things from one another. You take that all into account and you have a really nice package of an episode.

So it’s still the same Aikatsu! but just with less of the flow that I like and have come to expect from the team.

It took me until the end of the episode to acknowledge this gag.

Precure feels like it just really fell off the boat after last week. I didn’t really feel anything special last week and I really didn’t feel much of anything this week. I keep saying Kirara isn’t a bad character, but she has yet to really get an episode that does something really interesting with her character. All this episode really did was bring in a cheap gag character that we’re probably going to see from time to time.

That’s about all I can really say. It just comes down to the fact that Precure wasn’t entertaining in any respect. I can’t even say Kirara developed at all as a character. She just did it all for the donuts.

Oh, come off it.

Just like Aikatsu! last week, PriPara is demonstrating the real power of new characters. I said last week that I didn’t hate these new clowns, and this week they’re starting to actually feel like they’re being cleanly used. I mean, actually triggering character development and bonding along with the cheap gags? Now we’re talking.

This was a Mirei episode and one that didn’t suck (unlike that one during the Falulu arc). Instead of forcing her into some random situation for no reason, they created a legitimate scenario that she could develop in as well as show more interesting faces. Heck, you could even say that this episode taught an actual lesson that kids could learn from. And, it’s not like I need to lie (this episode taught me not to), I laughed at some of the gags. At least excluding the ones that ended with Mirei sounding like she turned into a Pokemon.

I really hope PriPara continues to work in these new characters and develop the old in this fashion. In fact, I really wish this arc (and specifically the ideas in it) had proceeded the Falulu arc. This way they could have used these two to develop the main cast more efficiently so the absence of it in the Falulu arc would have feel more justified. Then they could have just focused all their power on making sure the end of the Falulu arc would have had more impact.

Wrap-Up
You see, I’m not a bad person. I will give due credit when you earn it. And PriPara will get more credit as long as it keeps doing things that are sensible.

Leave a Reply

Categories