Posted by: Leek | April 27, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 33

Today we continue with our usual lineup of little girl anime.

This week featuring not so Suite Precure.

Yeah, I really wanted to make that joke.

Previous Standings

1) Jewelpet Magical Change – 286 Points
2) Aikatsu! – 285 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 243 Points
4) PriPara – 179 Points

Aikatsu! is really on the edge of usurping the lead from Jewelpet again.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) Go! Princess Precure – +6 Points
3) Jewelpet Magical Change – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
It’s really funny (or sad) how quickly things go back to normal.

Lazy bum, it’s not even Golden Week yet.

Again, I feel like this week of Jewelpet was just another hit and miss kind of thing. The first half (which was a little expanded) just led the way to a really lackluster second half of an episode. And the balance of good humor is nice but I’ll be a little sad if the decent gag tree is already running dry after only four episodes. If I really had an issues with the show you know I would tell you, and I don’t think there’s a real huge issue yet. It’s just a matter of it falling off every now and then.

That’s actually pretty impressive.

I’m not exactly sure what made them place last week’s episode where it was, but we kind of returned to exactly what I was mentioning last week. We go from completely Rin focused, to the main three, and now we’re back to a mixture that mostly pushes Rin. And it looks like we’ll still be rocking this theme as of next week. I’ve been trying to avoid future series development spoilers a lot more as of recent and my only real guess from now is that they’ll be pairing Akari and Madoka to rival Rin and Sumire later in the series. If that’s the direction they plan on going (and bringing in Tsubasa’s words from the episode pre-Rin/Madoka), then I actually like the direction. If not then I am just going to zip my lip and hope for the best.

I don’t think I was crazy about this week’s episode (it was good, don’t get me wrong), but it was just a matter of nothing really standing against it. To be honest, I like the development and I only feel bad because Akari lost her spotlight quite a bit…and by that I mean almost entirely. It is really nice to see Rin’s character being incredibly fleshed out, and I really hope they plan on doing something with it in the end. If not it’ll be one of the most random uses of time in the series. Technically, there’s still a decent number of episodes left for the series, but the end will be coming sooner than you think.

Note the donuts.

After the past few weeks of character focus, we’ve managed to rotate right back to another Super Haruka episode. The real point of interest this week is they finally decided to introduce the strange black masked character that shows up in the opening. And, not surprisingly, she’s related to the big bad boss waiting at the end of the series.

I think what really grabbed me this episode had nothing to do with Haruka’s “development”, but more of what they’re setting up between her and Twilight. I think, by letting the two interact on a regular basis, it sets up a lot more interesting things later on in the game. The rest of the villains haven’t shown anything particularly amazing about themselves, so it might be all about Twilight to really bring something dynamic and fresh to the series. I still don’t think anything about Princess Precure has grabbed me yet, but I’m slightly more hopeful after this week’s episode.

Family matters.

Well, last week was fun. I honestly don’t think this week’s episode was horrible, but it wasn’t fun to watch either. I think there’s just those really stereotypical episodes you can throw out, and that’s what this week was about. Everything really interesting in the episode (to me) was anything that didn’t have to do with Sophie’s dilemma. I just think you can come up with a better character episode plot than the old, “Hey, I want to transfer you to another school” rehash. It’s not something you really stick in the middle of the series either. It’s more like one of those cheesy finales to demonstrate all the friends made and character development. So making it a minor episode plot just turned it into a rushed fiasco that wasn’t really fun to watch. Far from the worse thing PriPara has done but not good either.

Wrap-Up
This week was really brief because, if you couldn’t tell, nothing was really that interesting.

Leave a Reply

Categories