Posted by: Leek | May 4, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 34

This time it’s Golden Week edition. You know, the week I only celebrate because a ton of people around me celebrate it and I’m just kind of forced to play along. Let’s move on.

One of these things is not like the other, one of these things…

…is going farther and father off the deep end.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 294 Points
2) Jewelpet Magical Change – 289 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 249 Points
4) PriPara – 180 Points

It’s rather funny that the reason Lady Jewelpet managed to stick so close to Aikatsu! previously was it’s consistency. And I think Aikatsu! has generally begun running the same concept against Magical Change.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Jewelpet Magical Change – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
A pretty cut and dry week. Nothing to complain about but nothing to go crazy over.

Do it do it do it do it do it do it.

This week continues and I guess somewhat closes out the formation of Sumire and Rin’s unit. It wasn’t anything spectacular (last week might have been better), but it did bring in that nice little tidibts about the industry that have been pretty abundant in Aikatsu! since the start. I have to admit the perk of them having the cast spread across so many fields this season has led to them covering a lot of different subjects they couldn’t cover before.

That aside, this week and even this arc does really feel like setup. It seems like we are far from the end of unit formation among the cast members. And I do find it a little odd where they’re going next, but it seems they’re leading exactly into what I want them to. Do I really want them to force every single character through this? Not at all. If they happen to jump to Hinaki right after finishing Juri, I’ll probably call bullshit. Even if it turns out to be a good episode, it does feel like a little bit of a time burner that they don’t necessarily need. But I’ll hold off on any severe criticism until the entire series rolls out.

Until then, it was a fun enough week. Like I said earlier, it was a consistent episode and on par with what’s been going on recently. It is midseason so I won’t start asking for more until a little further down the line.

The samba never ends.

I had been told that Sanrio productions had always been a little on the weird side (particularly while Lady Jewelpet was going on). And it became very clear to me that the only reason Lady Jewelpet was poorly received is that it conflicted so heavily with what people were used to. Either way, this week of Magical Change was completely bonkers, and it brought back a lot of memories of the kind of gag series I used to watch when I was younger.

I think the beauty of having divided parts is you can do things like the episode just never having a punch line. I don’t mean the weird kind of “lesson” episodes where it isn’t meant to be a gag. I mean the episodes where just nothing is actually resolved. That was pretty popular in this episode and it’s kind of something you can throw in from time to time to catch a quick laugh. This episode just had the flow and the gag sense to make it really good. I’ll never complain when gags come out this clean.

Just ignore that flower in the back.

This week remained in the realm of Haruka and, honestly, was just kind of a cute reflection episode. I don’t think I felt there was anything stunning in this episode and that it really just got pushed a little above the bar because watching Haruka’s family was heartwarming. What might be the most humorous part is that the character who actually did the most work was Kirara. She hasn’t had the best times to shine, but she definitely got to show a lot of good character in this episode. A little on the odd and unexpected side, but nice nonetheless.

Unfortunately, I don’t have much to say on Precure outside of that. Twilight will probably continue to be scouting out the group for a few episodes, but hopefully a cool development is somewhere on the horizon.

Sympathy for the devil.

PriPara is honestly back to what it did to first season. It’s far from a terrible series, but it’s definitely not doing anything right now to make itself stand out. I honestly felt like they would do something really over the top and stupid this week given the concept, but they really didn’t. I really won’t file too many complaints. Hovering between below average and average is probably better than just flat out being terrible. And no, I’ll never forget that last season happened.

I guess this episode was just necessary, and they probably could have found a better way to present it. This episode would have been better spent on doing something really ridiculous and off the wall instead. I think trying to make it too development skewed just slowed it down in the long run.

Wrap-Up
I think there was some enjoyable stuff this week mixed together with poor execution. I definitely liked the ideas though, and that’s a good start to making something great.

Leave a Reply

Categories