Posted by: Leek | May 11, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 35

Unfortunately, the holidays are over and there’s no real reason to party until Summer comes. But at least we have other ways to relax until that time rolls around. And hopefully all of you grabbed something nice for your Mother yesterday.

Not dipped. Not with. Not covered.

ON the potato chip★.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 300 Points
2) Jewelpet Magical Change – 298 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 252 Points
4) PriPara – 181 Points

Madness? This is Aikatsu!

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) PriPara – +6 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – +3 Points
4) Jewelpet Magical Change – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
In all honestly, this might have been one of those miracle weeks. I was able to hand out ratings easily, but I did feel pretty bad about it. There’s not one show on this countdown that didn’t do something incredibly right.

Toreador, love, love is waiting for you!

Carmen jokes aside, I guess the easy way to impress me is always by picking the obvious option that I somehow don’t think of. Yes, Aikatsu! staff beat me to the punch by realizing the easy way to get around dedicating too many episodes focused on forming units was by combining two main characters into one. Actually, this one was so obvious I should have realized they would do it. And I naturally can’t call bullshit on staff when I should be calling bullshit on myself for not thinking of the obvious.

My judgement miss aside, this week was just a really well done mix of gags and forward movement (something PriPara attempted and kind of failed last week). It was far from a pointless episode as it managed to pull Akari and Madoka much farther into the picture. Sumire and Rin’s arc was mostly focused on the two developing as characters with a hint of Akari and Madoka getting pushed in a direction. But this time around, Akari and Madoka were just as centered around the events as Juri and Hinaki. I think it was just this week’s good balance that really made it stand out to me. It had just the right amount of antics to keep it from getting to dull, and just enough development to keep it from just being thrown in to fill space.

That’s no way to treat your seniors.

Yeah, this stuff is getting weirder and weirder by the week. Is weird always a bad thing? Nah. Does it mean that I’m going to put it over things that are being more productive? Probably not. Magical Change was legit pretty funny from start to finish this week, but it is what it is.

Stupid dog.

The magical companions in Precure always get their episodes from time to time and I feel only a select few have really been halfway decent. It’s usually that episode that’s just meant to fill time and, unless those magical companions are incredibly relevant, it doesn’t add up to much. And I feel that Roma, like all bird companions, tends to be the most annoying thing to show up every episode. And Pafu is just a stupid dog. But at least at the end of the episode Roma became a slightly more tolerable flapping annoyance and Pafu remained a stupid dog.

In all honesty, it was just kind of a heartfelt episode that didn’t really do anything wrong. It’s hard to say whether Roma’s development will mean anything at the end of the series, but he did at least learn somewhat of a lesson. I think it really just felt a little under two series that are showing slightly more forward movement in more relevant areas. Otherwise, it’s hard to say I really enjoyed PriPara and Aikatsu! that much more than Precure this week.

That’s one way to stop a sword.

PriPara definitely managed to do itself some right this week. And it’s honestly weird because every time I see an episode about Shion and friends coming up, I tend to roll my eyes and groan. But this week was legitimately the kind of episode they needed to do last week, as opposed to the half assed gag development they tried to pull off.

I guess the real shame of it and the reason I couldn’t put it at number one is because, after this episode, Dorothy won’t be any less of a bitch and Shion won’t stop talking like she has a kendo sword up her butt. If they legitimately took any of the lessons from this episode to heart, then maybe, just maybe, I will enjoy seeing their characters more often. But it was at least fun seeing the group’s personality flaws as a whole mocked throughout the episode.

The real story of PriPara is that I’m legitimately excited to see what next week is like. I’m not exactly sure if I’ve ever been excited for an episode of PriPara, so hopefully they don’t fuck it up.

Wrap-Up
A week where I could have easily had a four way tie and not complained. But there were just small things here and there where I could separate the shows just enough. And with a lot of episodes to look forward to next week, I really can’t complain.

Leave a Reply

Categories