Posted by: Leek | June 28, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 42

Just so you all know, the next LGAPR will be quite delayed because I’ll be on vacation until Tuesday or so. So you can expect to see it sometime around mid-week next week rather than the usual Sunday-Monday timeframe. I don’t know. Just go watch golf or something. That’s usually what’s going on when one of these shows is taking a break, right?

There’s a lot of weird things going down in this shot.

Just ignore the gigantic woman sitting in the background.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 357 Points
2) Jewelpet Magical Change – 314 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 274 Points
4) PriPara – 226 Points

Well, PriPara was making a good run for awhile at least.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) Go! Princess Precure – +6 Point
3) Jewelpet Magical Change – +3 Point
4) PriPara – +1 Points

A Word From the Big Man
I can’t really determine if I prefer last week over this week. I think the bad outweighed the good in both.

I’m ok ok okay with this.

Well, Aikatsu went from pseudo fluff to actual fluff this week. But this week was probably fluff that a lot of people have been asking for all season. Dream Academy finally got to show up again and prove the school hadn’t just been blown up after Ichigo nearly buried Mizuki’s idol career. But the reality was this week was just a ton of really cutesy fanservice. I talk about Aikatsu fluff a lot and it generally comes down to how well Aikatsu manages to use it’s characters perfectly during the fluff. I think the only other new thing I can comment about is how incredibly buddy buddy Sena has gotten with Akari over the past few episodes. Cocky asshole.

Ever experience a magical swirly before? Not pleasant.

I never thought I’d be putting Jewelpet before PriPara because it’s little chunk of story was more interesting. I mean, really. Magical Change is actually going to have some end game point? The majority of this episode was pretty nonsense but it still made me laugh harder than PriPara. And it’s kind of nice to see them adding a bit of point to a few things and not just goofing off 100%.

Didn’t your parents teach you not to walk into a swarm of black vines?

I really don’t think Precure this week was exceptional because it still feels like Princess Precure is voluntary putting itself in Doki’s shadow. I mean, Doki didn’t invent this stuff either, but using similar plot points within the same franchise (and so soon at that) is kind of dumb. I just wish Princess Precure could do something super creative, but it really doesn’t feel like it even wants to. It was generally alright to watch, but you get stuck watching it with a big pink elephant almost blocking the screen.

Walk it off.

PriPara has very quickly fallen back into the hole of doing a ton of things that are exceptionally dumb, don’t benefit any of the bigger cast, and just aren’t all that funny. I burned on Jewelpet for the banana thing last week, and PriPara just basically rolled out a ton of rehashed jokes that are as painful as third degree burn to the nether region. I also still can’t tell if Fuwari’s arc is supposed to be a love story or a King Kong story.

Wrap-Up
So like I said in the beginning, kind of a dumb week. Maybe when I get back from vacation things will be better…or they’ll at least look better from my refreshed state of mind.

Leave a Reply

Categories