Posted by: Leek | August 3, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 47

I feel like just because it’s summer vacation there’s no reason the writers have to take a vacation. You’d think that because the kids are out of school you’d try to give them something more engaging. Why let those puny brains take a break?

Cicadas have dreams too.

I think their real dreams involve driving every other living thing crazy by never shutting up.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 393 Points
2) Jewelpet Magical Change – 339 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 298 Points
4) PriPara – 236 Points

I really thought about making some summer award but I feel like nothing has done anything to earn an award. Just kidding. I think my mind was actually blown this week.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Jewelpet Magical Change – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I originally planned to just fuck with the rankings like all the staff is fucking with me and have everything tie for fourth. But I decided that was really unfair to one of these shows and even added an extra something something on top of it.

You guys are sure looking forward to bullying your best friend.

I’ll admit I was really looking forward to this episode of Aikatsu just because watching “Uwa! Damasareta Taishou” every year is one of my favorite things. And, I’ll admit, it’s mostly because the kinds of celebrity on celebrity gags they pull is always hilarious. So, you know, I thought they might pull some of that silly stuff in this episode in Aikatsu! But it is a kids show and I guess they would have gotten in trouble if they did any super mean gags to Sumire since it would probably get raked for encouraging bullying or something. I don’t really have an issue with the childish gags, but how they kind of wrapped things up in the end was dumb. Runaway sheep? C’mon now. Watching Sumire cut up a fish was kind of sexy though.

You thought cicadas had dreams? Try talking to a stamp.

This season of Jewelpet is sure having fun with turning Ruby into stupid objects (a plate, now a stamp). But let’s not talk about the somewhat heartfelt gag filled first half. Let’s talk about the second half. The half dedicated to all the stamps in a neighborhood being given life and departing on a journey together. I really don’t know what you have to be on to turn out a plot like this (more or less okay it for TV) but Magical Change did it. And I feel I should award them for that.

So I give Jewelpet an extra 10 points this week for a special “Mindblown Award”. I really don’t think I’ve seen something as strange in my recent years.

Well someone came prepared.

Precure finally reached that episode where they focus on the fairies. And that’s about it. I think it was supposed to be mostly a gag episode, but it’s really hard to laugh when the series is already struggling to do anything correct. I know this is kind of one of those Precure episodes that “has to” happen, but there was probably a better time and place for it. And they could probably get away from Towa for a few episodes while they’re at it. At least the ending theme got me excited.

Go back to Pokemon Team Rocket.

Welp. PriPara fell back into it’s hole and pretty badly at that. I get that PriPara has kind of found it’s “thing” to make it different from other series. I think the problem is it’s “thing” isn’t being executed very well. It’s becoming that show that wants to be some kind of in-between of Aikatsu! and Jewelpet but kind of fails at doing both. The gags are just kind of ancient rather than funny, and the story just never seems to take off unless they really focus on doing it. I get that there are people that get a laugh or two out of PriPara, but I’m very much not one of those people. But even if I was laughing at the jokes, I don’t think this episode would have been that much more entertaining.

Wrap-Up
This week was pretty damn bad. Not because the episodes were abysmal, but just because it didn’t feel like much thought or effort was put into anything.

Leave a Reply

Categories