Posted by: Leek | August 31, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings – Week 51

A little late this week because yesterday was kind of a mess and I had to sleep a ton to catch up. But with the new month comes a new schedule so it’ll hopefully happen less often than usual.

Domo, Shion=san.

You’d be crazy if you thought I’d miss this opportunity.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 411 Points
2) Jewelpet Magical Change – 382 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 319 Points
4) PriPara – 240 Points

I really imagined that Magical Change would have fell from second place by now. But I’m either underestimating it or overestimating Princess Precure.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Go! Princess Precure – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) PriPara – +3 Points
4) Jewelpet Magical Change – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
Far from last week but not a bad week either.

GO TO ANO YO.

You could say a lot about the Aikatsu! episode this week, and even go as far as to say that it’s a bit of a historical landmark in the series. Poor little Shion has been around forever and there’s been a long running joke about her lack of anime stage CG model. It finally got cured, but the episode was still a story rooted fanservice romp (the last few minutes of the episode just confirm it). I did enjoy the episode, but I think there’s probably a time and place for this episode and even this arc. I don’t think they needed to do any of this yet, and it’s something they could have held for another season. Akari’s generation still needs more of their own individual trials, and I think there was a better way to give them one other than making them butt heads with the seniors.

Happens to the best of us Sakutarou.

After so many weeks of going all out, kind of feels like Magical Change finally burned out a bit. I don’t think it was a terrible episode, but it definitely feels a little below average in terms of what we’ve been getting. I got some laughs out of the episode, but it really pales in comparison to everything else this week.

Princess is supposed to kiss the frog, right? You do it.

I don’t meant to throw water on Precure’s first place finish this week, but it’s still an “eh” kind of episode. Yeah, it was a climax to yet another baddie falling. The problem is, I still don’t feel like I care that much about any of these evil clowns. Lock probably had the least personality out of all of them, and he just randomly decided to go rogue out of the blue. That’s about it. I feel like for the past two seasons that Precure has created some pretty good villains, so you really feel how dull it is with just generic baddies causing trouble. I think the other problem is the designs in the show are generally just ugly. From the new finisher to Lock’s pitiful final form, it’s just not working out. Close might have died early, but at least he didn’t look like an idiot after transforming.

My appearance fee doesn’t cover this crap.

Alright, so I guess I owe an apology to PriPara after last week. Yeah, I made fun of the episode preview because I was pretty sure they were just going to go for a cheap fanservice episode. Probably because they really didn’t sum up what would happen in the episode. And, even if it wasn’t fanservice, it was still a pretty pointless episode. There was something to it, and I don’t think it was completely unamusing. It just feels like every time PriPara tries to be funny, it generally turns into that guy who walks into the center of the party and makes bad jokes for attention. And it really just turns Magical Change into the nice comedian who just yields the space and doesn’t steal the spotlight.

Wrap-Up
The season is kind of ending soon, and it’s hard to say if any of the two that it matters to (Aikatsu, PriPara) are making anything of it. I’ll just hope that something really big start to unfold in the next coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

Categories