Posted by: Leek | October 5, 2015

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 4

So I forgot to mention last week that LGAPR’s posting date would have to shift to adjust for PriPara’s new air time. The thing is, I could still promise that it’ll get posted every Monday, but I really can’t guarantee it. Even if I’m awake at the time that PriPara airs, I don’t really feel like putting away time to watch it at that time of night. So chances are I’ll be watching a recording when I get up, and then I have to determine whether I’m up to turning out the post or not. So just expect LGAPR on Tuesday and sometimes Monday when I’m up to it.

I’m having fun with this picture in picture thing.

This week also made me realize that compared to a lot of anime (fully intended for grown adults, mind you) PriPara is surprisingly clever. Yeah. Kind of sad thing to ponder when you think back to how much I bang on it, right?

Previous Standings

1) PriPara – 21 Points
2) Go! Princess Precure – 18 Points
3) Aikatsu! – 15 Points
4) Jewelpet Magical Change – 13 Points

The points are starting to even out a bit again. That usually means a bad thing for the less consistent shows.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) Jewelpet Magical Change – +6 Points
3) PriPara – +3 Points
4) Go! Princess Precure – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
While there was some fresh and clever this week, it was also paired with a lot of terrible plot developments and whateverwhatever.

Someday love will find you. Break those chains that bind you.

If you pretend the entire first half of this episode didn’t happen, then PriPara was actually pretty decent this week. I won’t say the second half was particularly amazing, but it’s leaps and bounds better than having Ajimi running around and spitting gibberish the entire episode. I’ll be honest and say it’s mostly in third place because it’s overall development at the end is ten times better than the lame shit Precure is pulling. I really don’t care where Precure is going at this point, but I’m more or less interested in what is going to happen with all the throwaways from this point on in PriPara. That, and if the Prince’s plan is actually working. Or if it’s just going to end in another weird episode where everyone laughs it off and makes up instantly.

The real funny thing about PriPara this week is the new opening. Watching it, you’d almost think that Mirei was supposed to be the main character and not Lala. And if that’s supposed to be the idea behind the current arc we’re going through, then I’ll be perfectly fine with that. In the history of PriPara, Lala has done a whole lot of nothing as the main character. So I’m willing to accept a substitution at this point.

Notice that look of apathy from everyone else but Haruka.

I understand that just turning Kanata into a slave of Despair would have been a little overdone, but I think just flat out having him lose his memory is incredibly boring. It just kind of turns into, “Oh, Kanata lost his memory and all of Haruka and Towa care about it”. A lot of small things happened in this episode, and I just don’t think any of it really hit me. The Towa/Kanta interactions could have had a lot more impact, but there’s really nothing between the two that made me feel like I should feel particularly strongly towards it. Everything of their relationship was told through flashbacks, and they weren’t particularly moving ones at that. If the series wasn’t meant to have a fairy tale ending, then Kanata was probably better off just staying dead.

Taters.

I feel like Aikatsu really brought back some magic this week. I don’t know why I think as much, but I feel like Aikatsu just hasn’t been itself for awhile. And whatever it was that it was doing before somehow managed to come back this week. I don’t think I have real opinions on Nono or Risa yet. I like them, but I don’t know if that’ll hold down the line. And it’ll really depend on how the staff chooses to develop and focus them over the season. But from the opening alone, I see quite a bit of promise in this season. As long as it avoids the mistakes the third season made in the later half, I think Aikatsu will be back to being incredibly Aikatsu again.

“Never hold a fart” -Jewelpet Magical Change

Did Jewelpet really spend half of the episode making jokes about farting? You bet it did.

Wrap-Up
If you rule out Precure, there’s a lot of potential on the horizon after seeing this week. Or it’s all just a mirage and I’m going to want to put all these shows in a four way tie for fourth place next week.

Leave a Reply

Categories