Posted by: Leek | January 5, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 17

You know, I really wish PriPara had taken off this week and not last week. Had that happened we wouldn’t have to worry about doing this post and we could have just excused everyone. But, I guess this works in a strangely strategic way for Pripara since it gets to squeeze out some extra points (assuming it avoids any extra off weeks).

Get ready for an all PriPara motion picture.

Ever get that feeling of deja vu? I mean, it’s exactly like last year except a lot scarier.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 102 Points
2) PriPara – 78 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 76 Points
4) Jewelpet Magical Change – 72 Points

Just so you know this isn’t the final final point tally of the year. That’ll happen sometime later this week when I put together that post and do all the math of 2016. It doesn’t change the fact that without any year end bonuses, PriPara legitimately pulled it’s way to second place. What an underdog story.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) PriPara – +9 Point
3) Aikatsu! – +3 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – +3 Points

A Word From the Big Man
You might need to get used to the only three shows things being ranked for awhile. At least until February.

You fail me again and I’ll wrap my arms around tighter next time.

I have to give PriPara credit for starting off the year really strong. I still plan to award one of the three shows running at the moment for the first episode of the year, and PriPara is in a really strong position right now. Yes, I kind of wish they had a little more build up concerning the teams before they threw them into the final competition (yet again). But it seems like they have a bigger target which, hopefully, won’t just fizzle out all too quickly. I’m well aware that PriPara is looking to introduce new characters soon, and I hope that doesn’t interfere with what’s going to unfold just yet. They already went out of their way to write out Fuwari and Ajimi temporarily, so I’m willing to pat the staff on the back if both those two and no new characters show up until the current dilemma is dealt with.

Otherwise, the staff still has a really good chance to still make this arc about Mirei vs. Hibiki. And if that’s what’s going to unfold over the next few weeks I’ll really be happy. They could have easily copped out of letting Hibiki run wild, and I’m glad to see that they opted to flesh out her rampage for just a little longer. I’m really hoping PriPara turns this arc into a worthwhile conclusion and doesn’t blow a tire a little ways down the road now that I’m giving them credit.

Wrap-Up
I was gonna do something cute like last year but it was just dumb screenshots to make mini-conversation. I think you guys are mature enough that you can do without all that humor for a week.

Leave a Reply

Categories