Posted by: Leek | January 26, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 20

Only one more week after this and we’ll be back at four shows strong. And we might have new reasons for me to bash my head into a wall during that time too.

I only picked this shot to see if I could blind someone.

I think that’s supposed to be Precure or something.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 200 Points
2) PriPara – 182 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 102 Points

Precure finally gets over the 100 mark…just as Aikatsu! reaches the 200 mark. Ouch.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) PriPara – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – +3 Points

A Word From the Big Man
This was one of those weeks where I couldn’t really judge by which show I liked the most. It was more of the, “Who messed up the most,” kind of weeks.

Listen, you can’t both win Starlight Queen Cup. Stop cheating.

I think my big issue this week with Aikatsu was it kind of gave us the run around for nothing. There was that gap where we’re just supposed to assume that Risa and Nono were never together whereas we’ve seen them together in about every episode they’ve shown up in until now. So it’s kind of silly to sit down and watch a one sided lover’s quarrel that ends up resolving itself immediately with that in mind. I think it would have been more fun to see Nono and Risa recognize each other as legitimate rivals rather than partners at the end of the episode. Aikatsu’s biggest issue in Season 3 is that there was essentially no competition going on between any of the characters. And even though the fourth season has been gradually bringing some rivalry forward, this is basically two steps backwards again.

The failure to really introduce any real rival and just create more constant friendships in later characters just leads to the necessity of further character creation. And, since Aikatsu has been turning out characters at a really absurd pace recently, I kind of wish they would just let any pair within Starlight butt heads for once. It’s not like I’m asking two characters to hate each other even. I just want them to not fuse into a unit and tackle every obstacle together immediately.

It’s alright, she hit a guy wearing goggles.

While another great chance to give Mirei a not shitty episode got shot down this week, I think the overall direction of PriPara is still holding out fairly well. The big problem of Hibiki is still hanging around in the room, and Mirei prevented Sophie and Shion from just turning it into a really lame, “beat up Hibiki and her trashy team of characters you don’t care about,” situation. On top of that, the Underground PriPara discovery lets them draw out the arc a little more and stop from toppling Hibiki almost immediately after Mirei’s return. I don’t know how much longer than plan to continue this current arc, but I hope we get another 3-4 weeks of build up before they start thinking of ending it.

“I am despair itself” -Queen Despair

I’m pretty sure you could sum up the past two weeks of Precure pretty darn easily. They spent about 50% of last week’s episodes on the ground until Yui came to save them. This week, they spent about 75% of the episode on the ground until Yui saved them. Revolutionary. I really never have enjoyed the heroes rolling on the ground thing until someone gives them the power to get back up again. And, even if it happens in Precure quite a bit, I just think this and Smile (however many years back) really managed to grind my gears when they happened. It probably doesn’t help that’s it’s happened two episodes in a row now for Princess Precure. And, given what Princess Precure has done in the past, the Despair fight was actually just really boring to watch. Unless you really enjoy watching the five yell while running at a giant woman firing beams out of her broach.

Wrap-Up
I really didn’t care about this week. But I’m willing to forgive it because the past couple of weeks have been fairly golden.

Leave a Reply

Categories