Posted by: Leek | February 2, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 21

It’s time for February and almost time for magic and faeries. You’ll just have to deal with the boring usual one last time.

Vivid Kiss offers advanced courses in drawing on the wall.

Just look at how Hinaki has mastered that look of shame, yet mischievous happiness upon being caught.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 206 Points
2) PriPara – 191 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 105 Points

At least Precure will have a buddy in the rear soon.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu! – +9 Points
2) Go! Princess Precure – +6 Points
3) PriPara – +3 Points

A Word From the Big Man
I think I’m being pretty generous this week. Well, at least one of the shows really deserves what they’re getting.

Cut that out.

I don’t have an amazing memory, but I’m pretty sure about all of the Hinaki episodes have taken the top spot when they air. If not, I know I’ve at least brought up the quality of all of her episodes time and time again. But this week wasn’t just a Hinaki episode, it was tied in nicely with the other face of Vivid Kiss that we haven’t seen in quite some time.

Mikuru had about one episode in Season 2 where she really got to do much of anything, and she spent the rest of her time playing second violin to Mizuki. So I think the real charming part of the episode was that they let Mikuru act as a more experienced mirror to Hinaki. It feels like it’s been a long time since Aikatsu has turned out a really solid character episode. There’s been a lot of episodes I’ve liked, but definitely nothing I’ve loved as much as this week. I definitely bag on Hinaki a lot because she’s constantly falling behind the other two leads, but there is a part of me that really wants to see her walk away with something because she’s the underdog. And now that Aikatsu! has more or less set up each of the three heroines for Queen Cup, it definitely becomes a question of how they’re going to use their time until it happens.

You’re a idol, Fuwari.

I really have nothing horrid to say about PriPara this week (whereas I usually do when it gets last), but it really didn’t do anything. It was really one of those episodes where a lot of spread events happened but nothing really happened. I think it’s just the same complaints I’ve had as the previous weeks where they’d just get a lot of benefit from focusing on one character at a time. Let Mirei have her time, let that shift to Garuru, and then you can get to what Fuwari and Ajimi are doing in different episodes. I get that sometimes PriPara feels inclined to appeal to people with a three minute attention span, but that’s what short anime are for.

Emperor Close realized after 50 episodes he was too good for the show.

That’s right, I was finally nice enough to not put Precure in last. Is it because it did anything particularly well? Of course not. But on account PriPara didn’t do much, I would probably just be biased for not putting Precure above it.

I think I can compliment Precure on the fact it did a decent job of wrapping things up as long as you pretend the fight with Emperor Close never happened. There really was no reason for that fight other than the fact that they had some leftover budget that obviously didn’t go into the previous episode. Otherwise, it was completely pointless and could have probably been better spent on personal reflection rather than Emperor Close becoming the Jesus of despair. I believe I said in the podcast and over the course of LGAPR that Emperor Close was one of the few things Princess Precure did right villain wise, but was nowhere near used well. That fight could have been amazing, but the point is that Emperor Close was never really established since he spent a good chunk of the series “dead”. So the real final confrontation happened last week and was setup even less. But all the things Princess Precure did wrong is a whole different conversation. And, if you rule out the Emperor Close fight (no matter how good it looked), the episode did wrap up the series nicely.

Wrap-Up
I have to say I’m really looking forward to next week. There’s no guarantee what’s coming is even going to be better, but at least it’ll have that fresh new smell for awhile.

Leave a Reply

Categories