Posted by: Leek | February 9, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 22

Cue the fanfare. LGAPR is finally back at full strength and comes as fresh as we’ll ever be. I hope you’re excited.

I’m gonna teach you some top tier magic.

Just yell some magic words before you knock someone out. You’re now the most powerful witch/wizard there is until someone else knocks you out…or the cops come.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 215 Points
2) PriPara – 194 Points
3) Go! Princess Precure – 111 Points

Note that since these standings refer to the previous week, Fairilu will show up per normal starting next week.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) PriPara – +6 Points
3) Aikatsu! – +3 Points
4) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
If I had to say something about this week it’d be that everyone did their job. There’s not a show that was really dragging it’s feet, and I think it was just a bad situation for some versus others.

What’s cuter than idols? Idol babies.

I think Aikatsu this week was kind of hindered by the fact they did a long term episode as opposed to something short term. It’s not really a problem, but it’s hard to give it credit on a ranking that judges on a week to week basis. It was a cute episode and more or less a follow up to the Sena episode we saw a week back, this time shifting to the Akari half of the relationship. But I think the ultimate merit of the episode will come back when Starlight Queen Cup actually happens. Akari’s ability to shrug and smile through rough times is something we’ve seen a bit of, but really hasn’t shown up that much past her introduction in second season. If it so happens to come back via her losing at Starlight Queen Cup, then it does really turn your head back more towards episodes like these. Not that I really see her losing at this point, but I would be generally impressed if they decide to take that door.

Most of my credit to Aikatsu recently is just that they fixed what they did wrong in the third season. Too many things just happened at the wrong time in third season, and I feel like they did a good job of getting the mess out of the way early this time around. So rather than suffering from random character introductions in the middle of things, we’re actually getting buildup to a single event. And the perk of doing as so makes it so the ultimate result of the event is kind of irrelevant. So they can pick one of many doors at this point and escape with the majority of them.

PriPara presents the slowest minute of your life.

Unfortunately for PriPara, I probably can’t do an award for Valentine’s since there’s no real way that any other show can pull one out in the next week. But I do give them credit for taking the time to doing one and an amusing one at that. This week just did a good job of slowly pushing Hibiki over the edge as well as pushing everyone else towards the final confrontation. PriPara has been doing a really good job of slowing things down lately even if I kind of aggressively prod it every once and awhile. If it really does keep this up past this arc, you’ll probably see me banging on it less and less from here on out.

Since I kind of pat Aikatsu on the back for what it’s doing this season, I can do the same for PriPara. I think majority of the time that PriPara does a mostly gag episode it’s kind of badly timed. And I think that’s mostly the fault of them just having trouble coming up with solid arcs. But the nice thing is when you have an actual good plot running that episodes like these are actually fun instead of frustrating. It tied in well, the gags were funny, and I could really just sit back, relax, and laugh at it. I want to say this is the longest period PriPara has gone without me launching week after week of insults at it. So I really hope this isn’t a fluke and this kind of writing will continue past this arc.

I’m trying to do magic here.

It’s really not easy for a long running show to have an amazing first episode. You can’t start off dashing like a seasonal show because you’re going to burn out way too early. So it’s really hard to create something where you can grab enough attention while stilling managing to balance storytelling, character introduction, and action just right to make it work. But sometimes the stars align just right and you manage one of those perfect first episodes. I won’t say MahoPri was perfect, but it was pretty darn close.

I just think it’s been awhile where the characters, the visuals, the soundtrack, and just about everything matched up so perfectly. I remember very clearly that the only real compliment I gave Princess Precure was that the action scene was cool, otherwise I banged on it for being awkward and boring. I didn’t feel any of that this time around. Instead, I felt like I was being eased very softly into a warm, fluffy bed. It’s also been a really, really long time since I’ve legitimately liked a Precure opening. So that was a sensation I haven’t felt in a very long time. You might say the episode was a bit magical. Just a bit.

Use the doorknob you idiot.

Speaking of the difficulty of first episodes, it’s even harder when you’re a newborn. That is 100% what Fairilu had to suffer from and is most likely going to suffer from for a while. It’s not an established franchise so it really can’t wander anywhere out of bounds just yet. Fairilu represents the most common start to any long running show. It setup the universe, it showed off some main players, and it was doomed to be more explanation than fun. It may be awhile before Fairilu finally develops an image, and it will have trouble going toe to toe with everyone for some time. But it really is the youngling getting knocked out of the nest that just has to learn to flap it’s wings. If it can at least avoid hitting the ground it’ll stabilize eventually.

Wrap-Up
Well, I feel refreshed. I have high hopes for everything right now, so we’ll see how it holds up over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

Categories