Posted by: Leek | February 16, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 23

So as you may or may not have heard, Aikatsu has a pretty big announcement coming up that we kind of know the contents of already. Regardless, I’ll keep my trap shut about it until it officially hits the floor.

Lip is just happy because I have no witty remarks this week.

Sometimes being incredibly average has it’s perks.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 218 Points
2) PriPara – 200 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 138 Points
4) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 120 Points

And here’s the rankings everyone has been waiting to see. Thanks to the somewhat healthy cushion from it’s predecessor, Fairilu isn’t bringing up the rear just yet. But it has a long way to go alongside Precure to compete with the two leaders.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) PriPara – +3 Points
4) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I think the overall quality of this week was still pretty high. But it probably didn’t make me really excited like last week did.

That’s not what we call friends. That’s what we call a couple.

It’d be a lie to call this week’s Aikatsu anything more than a fanservice episode. I realize that it was meant as a way to show that Rin and Madoka had grown over the year, but it’s hard to say that either has really done that much. About 90% of Rin’s career involves being partnered with Sumire, and Madoka’s sole purpose is to be adorable. Still, it’d also be a lie to say that it wasn’t a cute watch, and it tied in pretty well with Madoka’s birthday. On account nothing else under it really did anything amazing, I think I just felt inclined to bump Aikatsu up because of the adorable factor.

Lifelong trauma.

PriPara basically did the flashback it’s been due for since revealing that Ajimi and Hibiki had backstory together. A shame that it was a little more cookie cutter than I wanted it to be. PriPara does some really strange things when it comes to humor, but it’s actual background writing is always really standard when you look at it. I don’t blame them for doing this episode (they kind of had to), but I do wish they had come up with something a little more fun. It kind of makes it blatant that they only created AJimi’s character because they were afraid most regular PriPara viewers would lose interest during Hibiki’s flashback. With Ajimi’s character they had an excuse to create an annoying piece of shit that gave Hibiki a reason to go into hiding and add the usual PriPara weird to the flashback. That’s my reasoning anyway.

The short is that PriPara just did what it had to do this week, but it’s potential from here on out has flat lined quite a bit.

That’s a happy little school supply monster you made there.

I feel really bad for putting Fairilu in last place again this week because I honestly didn’t hate it all that much. It was cute, and cute was probably one of the main reasons I ranked Aikatsu over PriPara. But it doesn’t really change the fact that the show isn’t doing anything particularly interesting just yet. I also find it hilarious that Deen just didn’t even fuck around and the school supply monster was basically a cardboard cut out. I don’t really get why a studio that hardly puts that much effort out is working on so many projects at once this season. Anyhow, hopefully Fairilu has something planned farther down the line. There are a lot of “catch em’ all” type kids shows running already, and I don’t think Fairilu has anything to make itself stand out. So hopefully it finds some kind of niche to help with it’s exposure.

It’s a snail in space! They can’t compare us to Harry Potter this time!

MahoPri basically keeps on top because of it’s ability to retain it’s atmosphere. I mean, if you’re going to be Harry Potter you might as well go all the way, right? But if you brush aside the obvious, I still think the soundtrack and the visuals of the show are pretty glorious for helping things along. It’s also the first time in awhile that we’ve seen a Precure that doesn’t go full CG just to finish off an enemy. And yes, I’m knocking on wood for that. MahoPri has a few more episodes to flesh out it’s world before it starts fully slowing down, so we’ll see where it stands in a few weeks.

Wrap-Up
I wish I had something more interesting to say about this week, but I really feel like MahoPri was the only thing to captivate me.

Leave a Reply

Categories