Posted by: Leek | February 23, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 24

The official press release that, yes, the current Aikatsu we’ve known for three and a half years is getting a reboot was put up a couple of days ago. Aikatsu Stars will be making it’s debut in April and filling in for it’s mother ship series. In case you really want to hear my take on the situation, I highly recommend you watch the blog for the next coming month as I’ll be putting up some exclusive content in regards to Aikatsu. Otherwise, you should just be aware that there’s gonna be another big roster swap in the Spring.

Speaking of roster swaps…who let her back in?

Unfortunately, I have no plans to talk about Attack Chance on the rankings. But I highly recommend you check it out. Especially because it only costs you a trip to the Sega Toys Girls YouTube Channel and about four minutes of your life.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 224 Points
2) PriPara – 203 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 139 Points
4) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 129 Points

I actually don’t know the math for how long it would take Precure to pass Aikatsu in the optimal situation, but it’s going to have a potentially pretty open door (alongside everyone else) once April rolls around.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Points

A Word From the Big Man
I feel like I’ve been being a little generous with some shows over the past week. I am meant to rate the shows based on what I did enjoy watching the most that week, and should count less on factors of, “Well, it setup this episode down the line”. That’s the kind of stuff we talk about when we make it to that episode, not before it happens.

To be continued…never.

I feel really bad for Noel. She gets added to the roster, she’s originally setup as physically weak to block her from becoming an idol, and then they give her the chance anyway…right before the series ends. To be honest, this week was really just the last hurrah for the Dream Academy fans, but they at least they made it worth the while. I generally enjoyed Aikatsu this week because it felt like if they were going to continue and ever bring Dream Academy back into the picture, it would be through Noel. I just kind of wish they had the time to have made the entire episode about her. But it’s been pretty obvious this episode (and even just recently) that they’re writing with the inevitable end of the series in mind. I can at least appreciate them throwing everyone a bone, but I still feel a little heavy-hearted watching episodes like this and knowing it’s only potential continuation is most likely occurring in a mobile game.

I’m being comforted by a wannabe Pokemon.

I should have never given PriPara anything better than fourth place last week, and I’m not making the same mistake this week. Sure, it’s doing what it has to do. But all of it is getting a little annoying because they’re doing that thing again. You know, the cram a hundred things into the same episode in hopes they can hold your attention. I was kind of willing to overlook it a few times, but things have been slowly falling off once they brought Garuru back for that short time. I think this week just made me angry because they keep flashing the spotlight on and off of Mirei. It really wouldn’t have hurt to, you know, just focus her more over all of this time. But they’ve been doing a pretty poor job of it, and it mostly just made this episode feel like dead weight. PriPara really has the puzzle pieces they need, but they’ve been struggling to actually piece them together. And their constant attempts to try and force Lala into the middle of the picture aren’t helping the situation.

Have this symbol of your failure.

I’m willing to bail Fairilu out of last place this week, but this is still about as far as I can take it. I really thought this week was cute, and it’s that family fun entertainment that has basically never existed on this rankings. I don’t really think Fairilu does anything distinct to make it stand out in this crowd, but it does a pretty darn good job of being cute. It also managed to get a couple of the main cast started in fleshing their quirks out, and we’ve more or less seen the faces that we can expect to pop up at least once every episode. I don’t know how long Fairilu is going to run for, but it’s more or less setting up for a very long ride right now.

If your stuffed animals could talk, what would they say?

Three weeks and the magic still remains. I could really go on for ages about why MahoPri is basically shitting on a lot of Precure before it (even ones I’ve liked). But it would involve bending your ear for about an hour, and it would also remove the whole judging the single episode idea. Regarding this week, I think the closer glance at Rico’s character has been kind of nice, and we’re seeing more of the frame that will slowly get reshaped and strengthened throughout the series. And I’m sure some people will want to say that Mirai isn’t exactly the most exciting character, but she’s the kind of main character you need to propel characters like Rico. But otherwise, I really just can’t say anything without saying too much. It was just a sound episode, and my only concern after seeing it is how well they can roll the villains into everything.

Wrap-Up
Every bone in my body itches to write pages about why I have high hopes for MahoPri. But, at the same time, I’ll feel like a complete ass if they somehow do a 180 degree turn on me and force me to regret life.

Leave a Reply

Categories