Posted by: Leek | March 9, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 26

I landed a bad case of the flu right as the weekend started and am just slowly getting back on my feet as of today. So that is more or less my explanation as to why this is getting out later than usual. I’m also a lot more bitter when I’m sick so that doesn’t exactly bid well for the slow shows this week.

I want one.

I always feel bad for the parents that have to sit through the barrage of toy commercials during some of these shows and pray they don’t have to hear those words.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu! – 236 Points
2) PriPara – 207 Points
3) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 147 Points
4) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 143 Points

MahoPri has finally taken it’s first victim. However, it now has to move on to the bigger targets.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu! – +6 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
There’s very little different with this week than last week. It’s actually the exact same situation except PriPara and Fairilu role swapped.

Better luck next…oh…

This week starts the long line of performances down to the finale and took the time aside to help Risa get a bit of last spotlight. And, honestly, this is the kind of episode Akari and the others needed way back when during their first run at Starlight Queen. Sure, it helps that this season had quite a bit of buildup to the event. But you didn’t really feel any impact before or after Akari and the others performed during their first attempt. This time around, you could legitimately feel like Risa was really out to prove herself. And getting outed almost immediately is pretty rough. It was also nice as a long time fan for the CG team to go back and touch up a performance that we haven’t seen for two straights seasons. I only wish they had the time to go back and do more.

Winners don’t use drugs.

Remember that time I shit on PriPara for doing that terrible episode to end the Falulu arc by spending 50% of it on the same performance? Well, they managed to do the exact same thing. It’s alright though, it wasn’t actually a performance this time. Instead, they decided to spend it on some kind of wannabe Wacky Races where you watch fairies race towards space. I kind of wish I was kidding, but that’s essentially what was going on for the majority of the episode. And, no, I’m not mistakenly talking about Fairilu. I kind of joked that we should watch out for a quality drop in writing in PriPara, but I wasn’t being serious. PriPara managed to end it’s first arc so normally that I have no idea what happened since that point in time. I realize this isn’t the actual end all of this Hibiki story, but that doesn’t change the fact that this week’s episode sucked every flavor of ass.

Doesn’t matter how hard you fall as long as you fall in snow.

Precure has been so damn consistent that I really have nothing to say this week. It’s just holding so steady that the only thing I can do is wait for it to slow down a bit or for another show to just be so amazing that I have to take Precure down a notch.

Singing in the rain.

On a similar note, Fairilu was just cute again this week. I don’t really have anything to credit or discredit it for that I haven’t said before. And even the visual atrocity it was last week was preferable to PriPara this week. So, with that in mind, there’s zero reason for me to rank it below PriPara this week.

Wrap-Up
Let’s hope everyone tries a bit harder next week so I have more to say.

Leave a Reply

Categories