Posted by: Leek | June 7, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 39

It’s nearing the end of Spring and all the rain is going the way of the dinosaurs. I really have nothing clever to say since the only thing that goes on during this time is that it gets hotter and plants start begging you for water.

Sometimes it doesn’t matter as long as the vegetables get cut.

Some not so common words of wisdom for you.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu Stars! – 317 Points
2) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 244 Points
3) PriPara – 234 Points
4) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 192 Points

So here’s the deal. It’s not possible for Aikatsu to get passed for first place before the second season of LGAPR ends. There is, however, a small chance that Fairilu gets out of fourth place. I’m not saying it will happen, but Fairilu can maybe make a miracle. The hilarious thing is that it would probably get more bonus points for staying in last place at this point.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu Stars! – +6 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I’m sure someone is looking at that and thinking, “Stupid Leek forgot to update the weekly rankings again,” when it’s really just the same story as last week. I think the only difference is that everything was a smidge better (maybe outside of Aikatsu).

You win some, you lose some. And sometimes you lose even when you win.

It might be a weird time to be bringing this up, but I’m still not sure what to think about Stars’ sense of humor right now. I don’t think it’s ever actively turned me or off or frustrated me yet, but I also haven’t found any instance where it generates more than a small chuckle out of me. I should probably just be happy that it’s generally well timed and they’re not trying to force terrible gags at the moment. Otherwise, this episode was just some trivial filler episode where Rola and Yume are supposed to strengthen their rival bond…or something. I’m pretty sure it was only really worth it for a few scenes, but I wouldn’t call it a terrible episode. That and at least Rola is giving off the vibe that she’s actually an amateur idol. All the gigs she’s actually managed to land so far have basically been cheap poster girl positions and it’s making things feel pretty darn realistic, to say the least. Either way, I’m still waiting for a Stars episode with a little more oomph to it.

Why is this beefcake turtle man requesting Ruby form?

It’s an episode like this that makes me feel really bad for Sparda. Where Gamettsu had a halfway decent buildup to his defeat, Sparda was killed off in what could most accurately be described as a filler episode. But that’s not what we’re here to talk about today. Going off of the small events at the end of episode last week, this week was a full episode dedicated to moving the story forward. And that’s something I’ve been requesting for quite awhile now. Not only does it get us closer to what I assume is a first encounter with Dokurokushe, but it also starts developing Ha-chan in a way that gets her ready for that one thing that everybody knows about but I shouldn’t put into words just yet. While I wouldn’t call the confrontation with turtle Gouki Mega Gammetsu a memorable fight scene, every other aspect of the episode was good, and that generally matters a lot more in the long run.

P.S. I don’t care how cute they are; the idea of flying mermaids still freaks me out.

Ain’t no rules says the girl can’t be three different idols.

As it turns out, PriPara writing staff might actually not know what they’re doing. What I originally thought was going to be a struggle for Non to retain three personalities and unable to perform as a full unit just turned into Terminator. While I don’t think the end result is guaranteed to be terrible, I just think the staff wasted a good chance to spend more episodes on an interesting character and instead created a convenient write off that only allows them to focus on even more babysitting. I admit I had some expectations going into this episode that got kind of crushed, but even without those expectations I would have still found this episode really boring anyway.

Fairilu Presents, “How to animate an episode in 50 frames”.

So if you’re going to talk about Fairilu this week, it would have nothing to do with the first half of the episode. The real focus of this week was the second half, and, more specifically, how the staff tried to find a way to animate as much of the episode as they could by swapping between the same two frames. I realize it’s part of the gag of the Ikemenjo Fairilu, but when the entire last five minutes of the episode could probably be converted into a remarkably small gif animation, it’s kind of disturbing. It’s one of those awkward moments where you’re not quite sure if you’re laughing with or at someone.

Wrap-Up
The image of Rola prancing around happily in a giant taiyaki suit will never leave me. Reach for the stars Rola.

Leave a Reply

Categories