Posted by: Leek | June 27, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 42

There was a reference I really wanted to make earlier in the week, but since I never wrote it down, it was never remembered. Oh well.

Don’t think, feel.

Mirai and Lip might have more in common than I thought. I’d like to give Mirai more credit in the brains department though.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu Stars! – 332 Points
2) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 271 Points
3) PriPara – 237 Points
4) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 204 Points

So, I’m sure everyone is looking forward to that reset in a couple of months.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +6 Points
3) Aikatsu Stars! – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I’m sure some of you are getting pretty bored seeing Precure at the top all the time nowadays. I mean, I love it, but I can understand that it gets kind of old. I just generally appreciate a strong show to lead the pack now that Aikatsu is out of the picture. And I’m sure Precure will be leaving some open room after this week if it really concerns you that much.

That’s kind of how I looked at the end of this episode.

The weird shifts from Hime to Tsubasa in this week’s Stars. I don’t think it was actually a weird episode, but something about the episode direction felt a little off. It might have just been the fact that it was a little bit over dramatized for what was essentially Tsubasa’s first dedicated character episode. She has shown up quite a bit at this point, but I don’t know if a sad story about how she had no friends is the right way to really bring her character in. And I actually almost feel like Stars needs to be a little bit more humorous. I often mock PriPara for not taking things seriously enough when it probably should, but I think Stars has a bad record right now of being a little bit to serious at times. The series is still young, and I’d really love the opportunity to laugh a bit more.

Laugh in the face of impending doom.

I could really go on forever about this week’s episode of Precure because it really did a lot. Not just in the episode, but it’s doing yet more things that are completely uncharacteristic in comparison to the franchises’ iterations over the recent years. But, in short, this week finally brings an end to the mini-climax we’ve been in and, along with it, the Dorurokushe gang. That’s right. They didn’t just confront the main baddie, they completely obliterated him (quite literally). I feel this episode just reinforces what I’ve loved so far about MahoPri so far. Watching the pair go against the odds just by sticking together is really fun. And it’s really a feeling you don’t get when there’s two to three other personalities running around and making the overall chemistry weaker. Up until this point, I’ve been making small points under the impression that MahoPri wouldn’t break the mold as much as usual. But since it is really breaking my expectations, I’ll just keep my mouth shut and let it do what it wants from here on out.

I’d honestly enjoy PriPara more if it always looked like this.

From babysitting to immediately trying to be serious, did you really think I could give PriPara that much credit? I’ve bashed PriPara for not building up to things properly before and this is just another case of that. And the biggest problem is they sure were okay with wrapping everything up and writing out Non’s three personalities so quickly. If they could do that you’d think they could have done the same with so many before that have absolutely no purpose now. I just have no idea what PriPara wants to do from here. I’m sure they have a plan, but I’m worried if it’s a good plan.

Talk about motivation to do well in class.

Precure wasn’t the only show to take a huge turn this week. Fairilu decided to swing for the fences in introducing a rather hefty addition of actual plot. You may have noticed that I talk very little on average about Fairilu compared to other shows, and it was generally because I was treating it like Magical Change. But when you introduce an actual antagonist to a series, that kind of changes things up. In fact, it changes it up a lot. Do I think Fairilu needed to do what it did this episode? Probably not. Does it up the overall potential of the series? Yes. I really wanted to give Fairilu the top spot for it’s ambition, but it is really hard to contest Precure right now. But if it keeps in this direction and it goes well, then it will have no problem staying on the top half of the rankings from here on out.

Wrap-Up
If you only look at the first two shows this week, it was actually huge. I got incredibly excited after Fairilu this week, and Precure was a pretty darn good cherry on top of that. I just hope both can keep strong with what they’re trying to do.

Leave a Reply

Categories