Posted by: Leek | August 9, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 2 – Week 48

So the time has finally come and we’ve hit a whopping one hundred editions of LGAPR. To be honest, I was pretty sure that I would have hung up my coat by this time. But, as it turns out, things have been kept just interesting enough that I’d feel wrong not going for at least one more season.

No special image. Just Mirai.

I couldn’t have asked for a better shot to celebrate the 100th edition.

Previous Standings

1) Aikatsu Stars! – 353 Points
2) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 319 Points
3) PriPara – 253 Points
4) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 240 Points

On account the weekly rankings is almost entirely deadlocked, I get the feeling the new season might spawn a new nightmare.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +6 Points
3) Aikatsu Stars! – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
This week is exactly like last week except everything but PriPara went up in quality.

What really scares me here is that tiny mushroom.

Stars decides to bounce back with a character episode for Ako…because they obviously couldn’t have fit this in during that previous arc (?) that was going on. I don’t know. I don’t think it was as particularly strong as Mahiru’s first episode (let’s pretend that follow up episode didn’t happen), but it did a decent job of bringing her character in a little more. Ako went from a self-centered bitch to just a bitch. Baby steps is the way to go Ako.

I know this. It’s the Eye of Voldemort, right?

So I was kind of expecting a bit more fluff than story this week in Precure, but I got just the opposite. Precure went from having a mysterious evil genie floating around to laying out the road for the rest of the series. And I couldn’t be happier. Heck, they even took the rest of the time to build the episode around Mirai, who honestly needed a little love in the character episode department. This was just an all around well done episode and incredibly helpful in opening doors for the rest of the series. Now that we know what’s going on in the villain department, staff can slowly let the villain roles cook as they work with other elements of the series.

But let’s set an extra paragraph aside to talk about a hypothetical situation. The staff has been bringing up the, “We’ll be together forever,” point a lot recently. I just want to state here that if the staff has the balls to split up Rico and Mirai or have Kotoha sent away in some fashion, then I will go find Jesus or something of that nature. I’m almost positive that they’re just doing it as a way to give Mirai a way to strengthen her character and to enforce that the trio is unbeatable when they’re together (aka separating them would cause bad things). But if OOOs could do it in modern Kamen Rider, then I want to believe that a Precure series can try it just once. I’d go bananas.

Oh, and in celebration of getting first place on our 100th edition, I’m giving Precure an extra +10 point award. We all know it’s not catching Aikatsu before the end of the season anyway.

So self aware that they apologized for the episode during the episode.

I actually don’t know what the point of this episode was. The staff was fully aware that this episode was throwaway filler, and they did their best to try and hide it with jokes of being self aware of the situation. The problem is honesty doesn’t get you out of every situation. PriPara is just transitioning into a new segment right now, and it’s never been very good at doing that.

My little sister can’t have this many big sisters.

Rather than talk about this Fairilu episode, I just want to throw it out there that Shijimi is an amazing character, and I really hope she comes back soon. Also, I’m not looking forward to next week.

Wrap-Up
I’m glad this week didn’t suck. Happy 100th. And now we turn our eyes to the coming end of Season 2 and beginnings of Season 3.

Leave a Reply

Categories