Posted by: Leek | September 20, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 3 – Week 2

The summer season is coming to an end, but nothing is really changing for family programming outside of OP/EDs. I’m actually a little angry about that because I never managed to win a single game of rock, paper, scissors against Lip. I think she was cheating.

They’re gooey, gushy, squishy, mushy, rotten to the core.

But I’m sure you wouldn’t mind this tomato standing outside your door.

Previous Standings

1) PriPara – 11 Points
2) Aikatsu Stars! – 9 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 6 Points
4) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 3 Points

I feel like this is exactly how Season 1 started…and Season 2 for that matter.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +6 Points
3) PriPara – +3 Points
4) Aikatsu Stars! – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
Fairilu is proving it learned from it’s predecessors and is trying to remain as sturdy and stable as a rock.

Sorry, I don’t know any Aflreds. And where in the world is Gotham?

Sometimes I feel like anytime I request something of PriPara, it’s like making a deal with the devil. If I ever get anything I actually want, then it ends with me paying a much larger price in return. I realize I made fun of Chiri’s original episode a lot because I was pretty sure she would never come back, but I honestly liked her character. I thought she would be the perfect bridge to Non’s generation, and that’s halfway what they plan to do with her. But rather than just getting that character back as is, they had to do the PriPara thing and add a ton of features you didn’t need or ask for.

But as much as I hate Chiri’s PriPara persona changes, I find the relationship between her and Non is one of the more interesting plot points that the series can walk down in the future. In fact, if PriPara could just forget about the original cast and focus on Non’s search for a perfect team for awhile, then it would be leaps and bounds more interesting than what it’s been doing. So hopefully the new season will grant my wish. But chances are it’s going to blow up in my face again.

I imagine it’s nice to hang around Lily during the summer.

Stars is bringing up the rear this week because it spent it bringing a new character into the cast alongside PriPara. The problem with Stars is that it’s episode was telling two stories at once that didn’t necessarily meld together all that well. I almost feel like they should have just shown the four searching for Lily in the first half, and then spent the entire latter half on Yuzu and Lily. I realize it helped break up the dialogue heavy exchanges between Yuzu and Lily, but I’d rather sacrifice a bit of pacing for less of the mess.

The other big problem is, I don’t really know if Lily is the character that Stars needs right now. I realize that Rola is the only real rival that Yume has, but they really just started establishing the difference between their abilities. The problem with adding Lily is that she’s obviously a step above Rola and can potentially compete with Yume’s magical idol powers. And that doesn’t really help Yume as the main character as much as it helps Rola. The past few episodes have really been setting up Rola for development, and introducing a new character that challenges her one defining factor just makes it feel like she’s going to develop more than Yume will. So who exactly is the main character again?

Don’t you want to know how we keep starting fires?

There’s not too much different between Fairilu this week and the previous week. But I’d probably say this week focuses more on the cute as opposed to trying to teach the young ones any real lessons. I honestly had it at it at the number one spot, but that was unfair to Precure upon re-evaluation. I’d say more about Fairilu if I could, but it’s really just keeping a consistent stream of minor Fairilu-centric episodes right now.

If I had a daughter as cute as Mirai, then I’d act the same way.

I wouldn’t say this week was particularly strong for Precure, but it did do something I really like. This week’s episode is one that happened to be directed at the parents rather than the kids, and those episodes are honestly nice to see. The problem I have with Precure right now, and the reason I almost didn’t place it at the top spot, is it’s overall objective. The whole spirit collection thing isn’t too different from finding the guardian stones from the first half. It’s just that there’s a lot of spirits floating around and a lot less development happening alongside them. So they’ll have to keep up a steady stream of either main plot of character development to offset how dull the idea is. This episode happened to do both of those, and that’s why I was willing to cut it a lot of slack. But it’s something to keep an eye in the upcoming weeks.

Wrap-Up
The quality of this week wasn’t all that much different from last week. Kind of unfortunate.

Leave a Reply

Categories