Posted by: Leek | October 11, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 3 – Week 5

The great thing about this week is Precure finally started showing off more movie footage in the opening alongside an onslaught of commercials for it that I hadn’t seen before. The downside is it just made me really sad that I won’t be able to see the movie until the DVD/BD release of it.

Don’t worry Chiri. They couldn’t do anything worse to your character.

Little did you guys know that I struck a deal with the PriPara staff once I heard they were bringing back Chiri. They would be allowed to give her split personality syndrome as long as they didn’t drag her through the mud like every other character. What are you asking questions about? Of course I have that kind of power.

Previous Standings

1) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 27 Points
2) Aikatsu Stars! – 22 Points
3) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 21 Points
4) PriPara – 16 Points

The positions are still getting passed around quite a lot. I actually wonder if we’ll see any true stabilization this season.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) PriPara – +6 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +3 Points
4) Aikatsu Stars! – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I wouldn’t be lying if I said I thoroughly enjoyed this week. I think the problem was just that most of the shows had a few stumbles here and there that caused the gaps in placement.

When did Rose learn to play the piano anyway?

There was a part of me that really wanted to like this Fairilu episode, but I think the direction of it did everything it could to change that. And I’ll just highlight two of the big issues that the episode had that severely knocked it down. For one, Anchusa reacted to almost nothing. The entire episode was about her plan to try and cause sorrow for both Lip and Rose. However, the plan ultimately backfired when both seemed perfectly content with their short trip to the human world. Despite that, Anchusa isn’t given a single line to show her frustration with the situation. The episode just kind of ends.

And that ties into my second big problem with the episode. It’s another dramatic episode that is getting inserted but going to get absolutely no follow up. And this is proving to become an ongoing issue with Fairilu. It already happened once when they left the human world for the first time, so it’s almost fitting it happens yet again in a similar situation. I’m really not asking for much. Just dedicate half of the next episode to kind of tone things down again. I want to see episodes like this, but I can’t really enjoy them if they’re random and only partially resolve themselves.

I’m sure she’s really nice when you get to know her.

Stars officially brings Lily into the cast this week, but the episode overall just felt lacking. I think the problem is that Stars still has too much going on to even think about bringing in another rival for Yume. I get that she doesn’t necessarily have a genuine rival relationship with Rola, but that doesn’t necessarily mean giving her an actual rival is going to make things more interesting. But, while we’re on this topic, just how many things does Stars have going on right now?

The main cast all wants to become members of the elusive S4.
Yume has some magical idol powers that also lead to her destroying her health.
Hime supposedly has these same powers, but only slightly helps Yume.
Subaru looked into this but hasn’t spoken about it to anyone.
The Headmaster has some vendetta against Yume; it’s probably Hime’s fault.
Yume and Rola are rivals…and also lovers.
Koharu and Mahiru are both walking the runway as rivals.
Lily has stepped up as another rival to Yume for best vocalist.
This naturally means Rola is going to feel inferior to both.
Subaru, Yume, and Ako are in a love triangle.
Subaru, Nozomu, and Yume are also in a love triangle.
Subaru, Ako, and Kanata are in a fuzzy love triangle.
Subaru, myself, and my neighbor are also in a love triangle.
Koharu, Asahi, Yozora, and Mahiru are on the path to a 4P.
Rola really likes dancing in that taiyaki suit.

Despite all this, the staff seems to really like focusing on the S4 members who have almost nothing to do with any of these above points. Not like I’m trying to say anything here. But, as you can see, if you remove Lily’s existence, then it removes two points among the many that I was able to list.

Every baby/toddler Mirai flashback is a dagger to my heart.

Precure has been doing very little right recently and plenty of wrong. Last week, the introduction of the two new villains seemed like a step in the right direction, and this week was more like three or four in the right direction. Sure, the new villain is questionably an idiot. Because I don’t know why you would go out of the way to isolate and capture Mofurun, give her back, and then decide you want to capture her again. Then again, Mofurun also survived a missile explosion, so we probably shouldn’t get too much into the particular logic of this week’s episode.

Jokes aside, it was nice to see an honest Mirai episode. Mirai isn’t a character that needs development, and this episode didn’t waste time trying to do that. Instead, it just fleshed out her character a bit by showing off exactly how strong her bond with Mofurun actually is. Though I’m pretty sure this episode was partly required because they wanted to throw something like this out before the movie came out. But, whatever the case, it was a really touching episode. I think about everybody grew up with something they really treasured as a kid (living or not), and it’s really tough to not relate.

I was kidding before. Welcome to the main cast Chiri.

PriPara does a gag packed character introduction episode this week that, surprisingly, didn’t suck. Honestly, I had just been assuming that the third member of Non’s group would be yet another disaster. But it turns out they just made a character that really brings to question the need for Fuwari to even exist anymore. When Fuwari was introduced, I mentioned that she was an even shittier version of Falulu because her natural talent and demeanor matched up (ironically, they ended up on the same team). So go figure they’d make a character that takes the only part left of Fuwari’s character and exaggerate it to make a better one.

I think the reason I fell in love with Aromageddon when they were first introduced was because, as a pair, Aroma and Mikan have this really amusing chemistry. It’s like that scheming villain and their really stupid assistant that you love to watch fail every time. I feel like Non, Chiri, and Pepper have that same sort of amusing chemistry that is resonating with me right now. And I really didn’t think I would like the balance because Non seemed more fitting for the aggressor role than Chiri. This was the whole reason the modification to Chiri’s character seemed weird to me. And, while this is usually a bad idea, I’m going to trust the staff with this one. They can do things right on occasion, and I think the younger trio has all the ability to add something fresh to the series right now. So let’s hope this doesn’t bite me in the butt again.

Wrap-Up
Maybe this week will be the start of change. That or we just start scraping the bottom again come next week.

Leave a Reply

Categories