Posted by: Leek | December 26, 2016

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 3 – Week 16

Yes, I aware. I’m late by a day. When I went to go do the write up last evening, I came to the realization that I hadn’t actually watched the week’s episode of PriPara yet. The cool thing is that during the period of yesterday they officially announced the new Precure series. So you can expect A La Mode to be replacing Mahou Tsukai come next year.

On the third day of LGAPR-mas my true love gave to me…

…three belated Santas, two obnoxious carolers, and a highly overcompensating Christmas tree.

Previous Standings

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – 114 Points
2) Aikatsu Stars! – 81 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 67 Points
4) PriPara – 50 Points

The end of the year awards will really have to bail PriPara out again this year.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Mahou Tsukai Precure! – +9 Points
2) Aikatsu Stars! – +6 Points
3) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
This week brings a close to the Christmas episodes and we can finally give out an award. Oh, and everything this week was well above average. And that’s the greatest Christmas present I could ever ask for.

Your parents were in cahoots with Santa all along.

Precure did an adorable Christmas episode that more or less lines up with what we saw from Fairilu last week. It just packs all those elements you’re used to seeing in Christmas episodes, and I just generally enjoy the Santa’s little helper gimmicky present distribution type of episode. Heck, they even included a really cheesy lesson about cleaning your room. But at least it was less silly than the brushing your teeth thing during Halloween.

Due to Precure and Fairilu having great and similar Christmas themed episodes, I decided to award both the 10 points this year. Tis’ the season.

Should the fragile girl really be operating that?

After being severely disappointed by what they did during Halloween, I half expected Stars to absolutely ruin Christmas. But I was happily proven wrong by a really enjoyable Christmas episode that just got beaten out by slightly more fun for the kids depictions of the holiday. But as a long time fan, I did appreciate all the throwbacks they left in from the original franchise.

In all honestly, I was mostly happy to see Yume back to being a main character. Yume was being horrendously overshadowed by Rola during her depressed state, and it was nice to see her taking the initiative to do things on her own again. Overall, the episodes played well to the strengths of the main cast, and worked in some good old fashioned Christmas romance for an older audience.

When dumb meets dumber.

I was really looking forward to the crossover of the Jewelpet and Fairilu franchises, but it was slightly more underwhelming than I expected. I realize they couldn’t go too crazy, but the ultimate subject matter of the episode just caused it to begin and end really quickly. Hopefully it does leave the staff more open to doing further crossover episodes in the future as I believe the cast actually compliment each other perfectly.

As I mentioned above, I believe Fairilu’s Christmas episode the previous week went toe to toe with Precure, and I don’t think I could rightfully place one above the other. So I will award both shows the +10 bonus points for Christmas.

I miss this Aroma a lot.

PriPara threw together a really good episode for Non Sugar this week (a lot better than what we saw in the previous). And, honestly, had this two part “Christmas” event just been combined into one and removed all the unnecessary performances, I would have given it really high marks. But, instead, they felt some need to split it into two and just made it feel unnecessarily drawn out. It’s really weird because I usually bash PriPara for throwing too much into one episode. So of course the one time I think it’s okay for them to combine content they decide to split it up. Maybe we’ll just never win.

Wrap-Up
I would say we would have next week off, but one show always has to not go on vacation before New Years.

Leave a Reply

Categories