Posted by: Leek | February 15, 2017

Little Girl Anime Power Rankings Season 3 – Week 23

Wednesday might just become a new thing. I mean, hump day posts give you a little something to look forward to in the week, right?

Look at how adorable Ako is.

People only voted Yume as the most desirable idol to receive a chocolate from because of her parents. Talk about privilege.

Previous Standings

1) Kirakira Precure A La Mode – 230 Points
2) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – 165 Points
3) Aikatsu Stars! – 159 Points
4) PriPara – 137 Points

More of the same.

Weekly Point Distribution

1) Aikatsu Stars! – +9 Points
2) Rilu Rilu Fairilu – +6 Points
3) Kirakira Precure A La Mode – +3 Points
4) PriPara – +1 Point

A Word From the Big Man
I really should have issued a tie this week, but I hate issuing ties. It makes me feel weak.

Someone is really into character.

I feel bad because I really enjoyed Precure this week, at least half of it. It’s just that I can’t quite adjust to the style of humor that Precure has shown me so far, and my feelings towards it are very similar to how I feel about all of the humor during Nichiasa. It’s one thing for very abrupt and often over-reactive humor to feel awkward in live action, but it’s another for it to feel awkward in animation. I overall wouldn’t mind if Ichika was a little bit less obnoxious.

That aside, everything outside of that humor felt on point. Himari is a good character and hopefully her personality will help offset Ichika from here on out. Precure presented a really solid and cute character introduction episode, and about every aspect of it felt like an improvement over the first episode.

Romantic overload.

Fairilu progressed from a really cute Valentine’s Day story to Lip crying alone, yet this still felt more tame than last week (probably because the drama consumed a smaller fraction of the episode). And, just like last week, Ren’s actions (or lack of them) continues to piss me off. I realize that this is one of the few occasions where everything was beyond his power. I understand that no matter how much power he has that he can’t go and start interfering in Lip’s romance. But he could at least give her a pep talk or something. I’m fairly sure he’s seen Anchusa approach Lip on numerous occasions, and he seems completely aware of the fact that Anchusa wants Lip’s romance with Nozomu to fail. So maybe, just maybe, he should tell her to not give up too easily on her dreams. Watching like an asshole doesn’t exactly make him appear like #1 Dad material.

I’m pretty sure the rival zone ranks below the friends zone.

Stars takes the top spot with probably the most fluff oriented episode of everything this week. There really wasn’t anything special about it, but it was just a fun episode to watch.

But let’s be perfectly honest. This week’s Stars was the episode where all the guys could get a good laugh out of watching Subaru’s romantic desires get shot down in a quick instant. I don’t think Subaru is a bad guy, but I’m still not exactly sure what role he actually serves in the greater scheme of Stars as it rolls further. And this is especially relevant because Stars is on the brink of moving onto a new season. He ultimately got benched when Yume was getting over her powers, and now he just seems to get left standing in the background of every family portrait over, and over, and over again.

RIP Hibiki…again.

I expected PriPara to be marginally worse than it actually turned out to be this week. In all honesty, if Takara Tomy could release the headphones Hibiki wears all the time, then I would buy them. Actually, I just need them to block out every bit of dialogue spoken by Ajimi. If I had those then I think it would greatly enhance my PriPara experience.

Anyhow, this episode was alright compared to what we’ve been getting recently. It’s just that it pales in comparison to everything else that aired this week. The thing about PriPara right now is that all of the matchups in the tournament are predictable. It’s fairly obvious who will win in every bracket and what the final will come down to. And PriPara isn’t exactly predictable in a good way most of the time.

Wrap-Up
I could probably give a Valentine’s Day award out this year since three out of four of the shows are doing one, but I’d feel really bad for Precure since it didn’t really have the leisure to do one. Precure really isn’t strapped for points where that would be an issue, but it’d also be unfair.

Leave a Reply

Categories