Posted by: Leek | November 12, 2022

We’re Still Here: 2022 Edition

To give you a good idea of how long things get backlogged around here, this post was originally titled, “We’re Still Here: 2020 Edition”. I feel that it’s pretty obvious that a lot has happened in the world over two years; I am no exception to that rule. If anyone was actually wondering and shifted their gaze to my personal Twitter, you might have gotten a good idea of what I’ve been up to. If you didn’t, I’ll leave it open to your imagination. Whatever the case, I’m not dead. I’m sure that upsets more people than brings joy.

I honestly feel like everything happened while I was missing. A new generation started in Japan, a new decade started everywhere, the blog passed ten years of existence. And, because of that, I felt it was probably right to make a big compilation of everything that is going on here and what’s to come. Hopefully, it will answer everything. By the way, that spiel is actually from two years ago. Funny how it still holds up, huh?

Hey, this advice is handy.

The format of this post is simple. I’m just going to highlight some random questions that have probably crossed minds when looking through posts here. If you just read what comes out, then you probably don’t have to worry. But if you’re one of those people that might have enjoyed specific content, some questions might be relevant to you.

Do you have any plans to write more about *insert random series here*?
So I figured I would generalize this question and just straight out say what I even returned to write about. I separated it into things I am for sure planning to write up, things that I might release if I get the motivation, and then things I will never touch again.

The For Sure List
・Eroge in Review: Jewelry Hearts Academia
・Eroge in Review: Criminal Border 1st offence
・Something Concerning Kamen Rider Black Sun (title pending)

As of right now, I have priorities on the two newer eroges I finished within the year. There are more that could be on this list, but these are the two that I wanted to address directly. Also there are some comparisons I can draw between how the two were marketed that makes them good candidates to publish back to back. I was originally going to do a review of Black Sun, but I felt like I could do a better article discussing the actual show rather than a spoiler free review. I also never get to write direct spoilers, so it’ll be a breath of fresh air.

The Maybe and Planning List
・LGAPR in Retrospect
・Eroge in Review: Sugar*Style
・Eroge in Review: Amazing Grace

Since I didn’t and probably can’t at this point write a the final review of Season 4 of LGAPR, I still wanted to do some kind of follow up article about it. It is the only time I ever did a regular series, and I still think about it quite a bit to this day. It’s even more relevant as all the shows from it (outside of Precure) have or are set to leave regular broadcasting. Funny enough, these other two reviews were on the “For Sure” list two years ago; so they got demoted. Half of the reason I’m reviewing Jewelry Hearts is as an apology for never reviewing Amazing Grace. But I love that game so much I might review it at some point anyway. Sugar*Style is sort of in the same boat.

The Garbage Can
・Eroge in Review: SPIRAL!!
・Eroge in Review: Kanzume Shoujo no Shuumatsu Sekai
・Eroge in Review: Sugarfull Tempering
・Any series or promised article I didn’t mention above

If you’re wondering why three eroge reviews got canned, then I’ll give it to you in short. SPIRAL!! was awful, Kanzume Shoujo was bad, and neither was worth the time to write up a review. But I did actually collect screenshots for both. Sugarfull Tempering wasn’t bad, but it also didn’t pop enough at me that I wanted to review it.

Do you ever plan on doing a regular series again similar to LGAPR?
The simple answer is no. It’s mostly a time thing, and I feel like my brain has just enough thinking space to turn out an article every so often nowadays. I also don’t really follow enough anime (or tokusatsu) regularly enough anymore that I could potentially do something like that. If this blog continues to live, it’s probably going to be in it’s original intent of random subjects I want to talk about.

Do you realize 80% of the images on your blog are broken?
No, I’m totally unaware of the obnoxious watermark Photobucket has applied to everything. I actually backed up every single image from my old gallery a few years back (around when I planned to write this post). I don’t know when or if I plan to reupload them all (right now I have zero plans to do so). I might try to fix those that are on highly trafficked articles, and I actually did that for all the eroge reviews at the least. The biggest problem is LGAPR as it ran for a long time and most seasons were done during the period where I used the old account. And in the case I do ever end up fixing every image, don’t expect me to ever fix them again if something happens. However, I’ve been doing the best I can to archive what I can in the worst case scenario.

All the podcast links are dead, do you ever plan on reuploading them?
I actually have every single episode backed up (including some unreleased episodes) and I had originally planned to reupload them ever since I dropped my old account. The problem is, the podcast is a lot harder to reupload than images, and I’m still trying to decide on how I want to go about it. If I ever find a solution I’m comfortable with, I might reupload and provide links to everything.

Speaking of the podcast, do you ever plan to do something like it in the future?
The funniest thing is rather than reuploading the older podcast, it would be much easier for me to start a new one and it’d have infinitely higher production value. The biggest problem is I don’t really have a crew for it, and I would have too much trouble finding material. As I said earlier, I don’t really watch anime on the regular anymore. The episodes would end up be very scarce as I’d most likely have to assemble different individuals to talk about different things, so the time investment would be too hard to fit into my schedule. There are parts of me that would love to do it to readdress topics we covered previously with new knowledge I’ve gained over the years though.

There’s probably a lot more questions that I intended to answer when I first conceived this post, but I feel like this is all that still holds relevant to this day. If you didn’t read any of this, just know there are probably at least a couple of articles arriving sometime within the month.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories